Library Guides

@CQU Library

CULT11011 Australian film and culture

This guide will show you how to conduct a search for resources you can use for your assignments.

It is divided into the following topics:

The topic for Assessment Item 1 is used as an example throughout this guide:

Undertake an analysis of two ...films [listed in the course profile], showing how they represent ideas of Australia and Australianness. In particular, describe the way in which these films represent and resolve conflicts, and how these conflicts relate to broader issues of Australian identity and cultural values.


Planning your search

Before you begin searching for resources, you need to to spend some time thinking about the topic.

Firstly, try brainstorming what you already know about the topic.

You might like to use concept maps, flow charts, lists or tables to organise your information.

The brainstorming process should make it easier to select keywords you can use in your search.

Your list of keywords should include:

Remember to also include:

Note:  If you’re having trouble thinking of keywords, you may like to try your textbook, or a dictionary, thesaurus or encyclopaedia.

Note:  Add to your list of keywords throughout your search - you are likely to come across terms that you had not thought of.


Searching the library catalogue

To find resources on a particular topic,  perform a keyword search in the Library catalogue:

Example 1:
example
This search will return all records containing the word identity, the word australia and the word film.
(More information on how to perform a
keyword search.)

Example 2:
example
This search will return all records containing the phrase national identity i.e. where the words are together.
(More information on how to perform a
phrase search.)
 

Note:  Check out the How do I find books? section in 'Compass: Library Help Online'.

Note: 
Selecting a subject heading will link you to other items in the collection with the same subject heading. Each item in the CQU Library Catalogue has been allocated at least one subject heading. Once you have found a suitable book, make sure you have a look at the subject headings in the Complete Record.

Searching online databases

Journals are an excellent source of current information and research.

The easiest way to find journal articles on a particular topic is to search a database which contains references to journal articles.

There are a number of databases which may prove useful for this course:

Database

More information

APAIS:
Australian Public Affairs Information Service

This is an Australian database, so you may find it particularly useful for this course.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Search Guide

Humanities International Complete

 

JSTOR

 

ProQuest

Search Guide


Databases vary in the amount of information they provide about particular articles:

If the article you want is unavailable in full-text via the database you're  searching, you can use ArticleLinker to see if the article is available in another database or in hard copy on the Library shelves. 

Note:  Check out the How do I find journal articles? section in 'Compass: Library Help Online'.

Note: 
There are different types of journals - make sure that the articles you choose come from academic or scholarly journals.
 

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library