Library Guides

@CQU Library

TOUR11013 Understanding Tourism

This guide is designed to help you find resources which will be useful for Assessment Item 1 (extended answer) and Assessment Item 2 (essay).

For both of these assignments, you are required to find and use a number of scholarly resources, in addition to your textbook and study guide.

Assessment Item 1 (extended answer) requires you to use a minimum of four additional resources; Assessment 2 (essay) requires you to use at lease seven additional resources.
 

This guide will show you how to plan your search, and how to access various types of resources:

The following topic is used as an example throughout this guide:

What are the positive and negative implications of an ageing population for the tourism sector of a Phase Four society?


Planning your search

Whether you intend looking for information in a library catalogue, a journal database, or the internet, you will need a range of keywords  to search with.

Firstly, try brainstorming what you already know about the topic.

You might like to use concept maps, flow charts, lists or tables to organise your information.

The brainstorming process should make it easier to select keywords you can use in your search.

Your list of keywords should include:

Remember to also include:

Note:  If you’re having trouble thinking of keywords, you may like to try your textbook, or a dictionary, thesaurus or encyclopaedia.

Note: 
Add to your list of keywords throughout your search - you are likely to come across terms that you had not thought of.

How to find books

You can use the Book Search in the Library catalogue to find books on your topic.

Example:
example: book search

This search will return all records containing the word ageing or the word aging, as well as the word tourism.

Note:  For more information, check out the How do I find books? section in 'Compass: Library Help Online'.

Note: 
Selecting a subject heading will link you to other items in the collection with the same subject heading. Each item in the CQU Library Catalogue has been allocated at least one subject heading. Once you have found a suitable book, make sure you have a look at the subject headings in the Complete Record.

How to find journal articles

Journals are an excellent source of current information and research.

The easiest way to find journal articles on a particular topic is to search a database which contains references to journal articles.

Below are links to databases which you may like to try searching for tourism content - some of them have a search guide available:

Database

More information

APAIS:
Australian Public Affairs Information Service

 

ATI:
Australian Tourism Index

ATI only contains records for resources published between 1982 and 2000.

Expanded Academic ASAP

Search Guide

Humanities International Complete

 

JSTOR

 

ProQuest

Search Guide

 

Databases vary in the amount of information they provide about particular articles:

If the article you want is unavailable in full-text via the database you're searching, you can use ArticleLinker to see if the article is available in another database or in hard copy on the Library shelves. 

Note:  For more information, check out the How do I find journal articles? section in 'Compass: Library Help Online'.
 

Note:  There are different types of journals - make sure that the articles you choose come from academic or scholarly journals.
 


How to find newspaper articles

NewsBank provides full-text access to major Australian newspapers, as well as a selection of international newspapers.

All of the records in NewsBank will contain a link to the full-text resource.

Here are some directions for how to access and search NewsBank:

Example:
example: newsbank
This search will return all records containing the word travel and the phrase older people which were published in the past 12 months.

Example:
example: record


How to find government publications

To find out which government publications (e.g. reports, policy documents) are held at CQU Library, perform a keyword search in the Library catalogue.

To help limit your search to government publications, include the words department and government as keywords.

Example:
example: keyword search

This search will return all records containing the word department or the word government, as well as the word tourism.
(More information on how to perform a keyword search and phrase search.)

Some government publications will be freely available online.

There are a couple of ways to locate these publications:

1) You can go directly to a specific government department's website and browse to find a relevant publication. Check out Gov.au if you're not sure of the web address.

2) You can use a search engine, e.g. Google, and limit your search to government websites.

Example:
example: google search
This search will limit your results to Australian government websites, i.e. all sites ending with gov.au.


How to find websites

Anyone can publish content on the Internet, and many websites are not subjected to the same sorts of evaluative processes used in traditional publishing methods like books and journals.

For example, to publish in a journal, the author must submit their article to a board of editors who, read the article and make recommendations for change until the article meets the standards of the journals reputation - or simply reject the article if it is not appropriate. In contrast, web publishing is open to all.

As a result, you need to evaluate websites yourself to ensure they are suitable for inclusion in your academic assignments and research.

The online tutorial, Internet Detective, will help you develop your internet research skills.

You may also like to search the following scholarly subject directories for suitable web sources:

Note:  Check out Successful Web Searching for links to search engines and other searching tools available on the Internet.

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library