Library Guides

@CQU Library

Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies - Library Resource Guide

This guide lists different kinds of resources relevant to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies, including:

Compass icon This icon is used throughout this guide to indicate additional resources you may like to follow-up.


Please note:
You may be required to enter in your student number and e.rolment pin to access some of the resources listed in this guide.



Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic by locating background information and definitions or explanations of words and concepts.

Examples of print dictionaries and encyclopedias
Aboriginal mythology: an A-Z spanning the history of aboriginal mythology from the earliest legends to the present day (1994) Link to catalogue record
Australian encyclopedia (1996) Link to catalogue record
The Australian people: an encyclopedia of the nation, its people and their origins (2001) Link to catalogue record
The Encyclopaedia of Aboriginal Australia : Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander history, society and culture (1994) Link to catalogue record
The Macmillan encyclopedia of Australia's Aboriginal peoples (2000) Link to catalogue record
Macquarie Aboriginal words: a dictionary of words from Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander languages (1994) Link to catalogue record

Macquarie atlas of Indigenous Australia: culture and society through space and time (2005)

Link to catalogue record

 



Books

Books are an important source of information.  Books can provide you with specific information on a particular topic as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to ATSI Studies.

Compass icon How do I find books?
These pages will show you how to use the Library Catalogue to search for books held by the Library.



Journal articles

Journal articles are excellent sources of current information and research. These resources will become increasingly important to you as you progress in your degree.

Compass icon How do I find journal articles?
These pages will show you how to search for articles in journals held by the Library.

Compass icon Databases by Subject: Listings related to Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies
This page provides links to databases containing content relevant to ATSI Studies.



Websites

Some useful websites
Australian Indigenous Health Infonet The Australian Indigenous HealthInfoNet is an innovative web resource that makes knowledge and information on Indigenous health easily accessible to inform practice and policy.
The Australian Indigenous Health Promotion Knowledge Network The Network provides access to the latest information in Indigenous health including employment, skills and educational development opportunities; conferences and publications.
Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies The Australian Institute of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Studies (AIATSIS) is the world’s premier institution for information and research about the cultures and lifestyles of Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander peoples.
Center for world indigenous studies The Center for World Indigenous Studies (CWIS) is an independent, non-profit research and education organization dedicated to wider understanding and appreciation of the ideas and knowledge of indigenous peoples and the social, economic and political realities of indigenous nations.
Overcoming Indigenous Disadvantage: Key Indicators 2005 In April 2002, the Council of Australian Governments commissioned the Steering Committee to produce a regular report against key indicators of Indigenous disadvantage. This report has an important long-term objective. It is to inform Australian governments about whether policy programs and interventions are achieving positive outcomes for Indigenous people. This will help guide where further work is needed.
Reconciliation Australia Reconciliation Australia is an independent, not-for-profit organisation established in 2000 by the former Council for Aboriginal Reconciliation. Its mission is to promote and build reconciliation between Indigenous and non-Indigenous Australians.


Compass icon Successful web searching
This page contains links to different search tools.

Compass icon Evaluating websites
This page discusses the importance of evaluating a website to determine if it is suitable for inclusion in an academic assignment, and provides links to resources which will show you how to do this.

Compass icon Internet Detective
This is an online tutorial which will help you develop your internet research skills. It was created by the University of Bristol and Manchester Metropolitan University.



Course Resources Online (CROs)

CROs are documents (book chapters, journal articles etc.) that a course co-ordinator for a particular course has asked be made available online.

Compass icon Course Resources Online
This page lists all of the courses with CROs. Click on the relevant course code to see what CROs are available for a particular course.

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library