Library Guides

@CQU Library

Cultural Studies - Library Resource Guide

This guide lists different kinds of resources relevant to Cultural Studies, including:

Compass icon This icon is used throughout this guide to indicate additional resources you may like to follow-up.


Please note:
You may be required to enter in your student number and e.rolment pin to access some of the resources listed in this guide.



Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic by locating background information and definitions or explanations of words and concepts.

Examples of print dictionaries and encyclopedias

The Australian people: an encyclopedia of the nation, its people and their origins (2001)

Link to the catalogue record

A dictionary of cultural and critical theory (1996)

Link to the catalogue record

Encyclopedia of social and cultural anthropology (2002)

Link to the catalogue record

Key concepts in post-colonial studies (1998)

Link to the catalogue record

The Sage dictionary of cultural studies (2004)

Link to the catalogue record


Compass icon
The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Politics (2002)
A Dictionary of Sociology (2002)
Dictionary of the Social Sciences (2002)
Who's Who in the Twentieth Century (1999)
World Encyclopedia (2002)
These dictionaries are available online via the Oxford Reference Online database.



Books

Books are an important source of information.  Books can provide you with specific information on a particular topic as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to Cultural Studies.

Compass icon How do I find books?
These pages will show you how to use the Library Catalogue to search for books held by the Library.



Journal articles

Journal articles are excellent sources of current information and research. These resources will become increasingly important to you as you progress in your degree.

Compass icon How do I find journal articles?
These pages will show you how to search for articles in journals held by the Library.

Compass icon Databases by Subject: Listings related to 'Cultural Studies'
This page provides links to databases containing content relevant to Cultural Studies.



Websites

Some useful websites

Centre for Critical and Cultural Studies (University of Queensland)

The Centre for Critical and Cultural Studies was established in 2000 with the support of the Vice-Chancellor's Strategic Development fund and the Faculty of Arts. The Centre's objective is to develop humanities research within the university and to promote its benefits within the wider community.

Directory of Australian cultural organisations and resources

The Australian Government's Culture and Recreation Portal.

Resource Center for Cyberculture Studies (RCCS)

The RCCS is an online, not-for-profit organization whose purpose is to research, teach, support and create diverse and dynamic elements of cyberculture.

TechTonic

TechTonic is a archive of articles about the interplay between media,
technology and culture in Australia.

Whole Pop Magazine Online

A weblog containing information and trivia about popular culture.

Young Media Australia

Australia's best source of up-to-date information about media and children, for parents and caregivers, professionals, students and researchers.


Compass icon Successful web searching
This page contains links to different search tools.

Compass icon Evaluating websites
This page discusses the importance of evaluating a website to determine if it is suitable for inclusion in an academic assignment, and provides links to resources which will show you how to do this.

Compass icon Internet Detective
This is an online tutorial which will help you develop your internet research skills. It was created by the University of Bristol and Manchester Metropolitan University.



Course Resources Online (CROs)

CROs are documents (book chapters, journal articles etc.) that a course co-ordinator for a particular course has asked be made available online.

Compass icon Course Resources Online
This page lists all of the courses with CROs. Click on the relevant course code to see what CROs are available for a particular course.

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library