Library Guides

@CQU Library

Film Studies - Library Resource Guide

This guide lists different kinds of resources relevant to Film Studies, including:

Compass icon This icon is used throughout this guide to indicate additional resources you may like to follow-up.


Please note:
You may be required to enter in your student number and e.rolment pin to access some of the resources listed in this guide.



Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic by locating background information and definitions or explanations of words and concepts.

Examples of print dictionaries and encyclopedias

The animated film encyclopedia: a complete guide to shorts, features and sequences 1900-1979 (2000)

Link to catalogue record

The anime encyclopedia: a guide to Japanese animation since 1917 (2001)

Link to catalogue record

Critical dictionary of film and television theory (2001)

Link to catalogue record

Dictionary of film terms: the aesthetic companion to film analysis (1994)

Link to catalogue record

Encyclopedia of movie special effects (2000)

Link to catalogue record

The encyclopedia of science fiction movies (2001)

Link to catalogue record

The film studies dictionary (2001)

Link to catalogue record

The Macmillan international film encyclopedia (2001)

Link to catalogue record

 



Books

Books are an important source of information.  Books can provide you with specific information on a particular topic as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to Film Studies.

Compass icon How do I find books?
These pages will show you how to use the Library Catalogue to search for books held by the Library.



Journal articles

Journal articles are excellent sources of current information and research. These resources will become increasingly important to you as you progress in your degree.

Compass icon How do I find journal articles?
These pages will show you how to search for articles in journals held by the Library.

Compass icon Databases by Subject: Listings related to Film Studies
This page provides links to databases containing content relevant to Film Studies.



Websites

Some useful websites

Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences

The Academy of Motion Picture Arts and Sciences is a professional honorary organization of over 6,000 motion picture professionals. The annual presentation of the Oscars has become academy's most famous activity.

American Film Institute (AFI)

AFI is a national institute providing leadership in screen education and the recognition and celebration of excellence in the art of film, television and digital media.

Australian Film Commission - News & Events

The Australian Film Commission (AFC) is an Australian Government agency operating under the Commonwealth Film Program (Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts) to ensure the creation, preservation and availability of Australian audiovisual content.

Australian Film Institute (AFI)

The AFI is Australia's foremost screen culture organisation. The AFI has promoted Australian film and television for over 48 years and is responsible for producing Australia's premier film and television awards, the annual AFI Awards.

Film Australia

Film Australia is one of the nation's leading producers of television documentaries and educational programs. It is an
Australian Government-owned company committed to creating an audio-visual record of Australian life.

The Internet Movie Database (IMDb)

IMDb is a collection of information about movies.


Compass icon Successful web searching
This page contains links to different search tools.

Compass icon Evaluating websites
This page discusses the importance of evaluating a website to determine if it is suitable for inclusion in an academic assignment, and provides links to resources which will show you how to do this.

Compass icon Internet Detective
This is an online tutorial which will help you develop your internet research skills. It was created by the University of Bristol and Manchester Metropolitan University.



Course Resources Online (CROs)

CROs are documents (book chapters, journal articles etc.) that a course co-ordinator for a particular course has asked be made available online.

Compass icon Course Resources Online
This page lists all of the courses with CROs. Click on the relevant course code to see what CROs are available for a particular course.



Films

You can search for films held in the Library by performing a DVD and Video Search.

Enter the name of the film and the director's last name into the search boxes:

Example:
Example of DVD and Video Search

To determine the film's format - DVD or video - click on 'Complete Record':

Example:
Example of record

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library