Library Guides

@CQU Library

Geography - Library Resource Guide

This guide lists different kinds of resources relevant to Geography, including:

Compass icon This icon is used throughout this guide to indicate additional resources you may like to follow-up.


Please note:
You may be required to enter in your student number and e.rolment pin to access some of the resources listed in this guide.



Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic by locating background information and definitions or explanations of words and concepts.

Some dictionaries for Geography

An Australian dictionary of environment and planning (1990)

Link to catalogue record

Dictionary of environment and development: people, places, ideas, and organizations (1993)

Link to catalogue record

Dictionary of environment and sustainable development (1996)

Link to catalogue record

A dictionary of geography (2004)

Link to catalogue record

The dictionary of human geography (2000)

Link to catalogue record

International GIS dictionary (1995)

Link to catalogue record

Longman geography handbook: the study of the earth, its landforms, and peoples (1992)

Link to catalogue record

Macmillan dictionary of the environment (1994)

Link to catalogue record

A modern dictionary of geography (2001)

Link to catalogue record

The Penguin dictionary of physical geography (2000)

Link to catalogue record

Soil and environmental science dictionary (2001)

Link to catalogue record


 

Some encyclopedias for Geography

The Australian encyclopaedia (1996) [8 volumes]

Link to catalogue record

Companion encyclopedia of geography: the environment and humankind (1996)

Link to catalogue record

Encyclopedia of environmental science (1999)

Link to catalogue record

The encyclopedia of environmental studies (1991)

Link to catalogue record

Encyclopedia of global environmental change (2002) [5 volumes]

Link to catalogue record

Environmental literature: an encyclopedia of works, authors, and themes (1999)

Link to catalogue record

International encyclopedia of environmental politics (2002)

Link to catalogue record

Macmillan encyclopedia of the environment (1997)

Link to catalogue record



Compass icon Oxford Reference Online - Earth and Environmental Sciences
This link will take you to the search screen for the earth and environmental science publications in Oxford Reference Online.



Books

Books are an important source of information.  Books can provide you with specific information on a particular topic as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to Geography.

Compass icon How do I find books?
These pages will show you how to use the Library Catalogue to search for books held by the Library.



Journal articles

Journal articles are excellent sources of current information and research. These resources will become increasingly important to you as you progress in your degree.

Compass icon How do I find journal articles?
These pages will show you how to search for articles in journals held by the Library.

Compass icon Databases by Subject: Listings related to Geography
This page provides links to databases containing content relevant to the study of geography.


Maps and atlases

 

Atlas of Australian resources (3rd series)
1. Soils and land use
2. Population
3. Agriculture
4. Climate
5. Geology and minerals
6. Vegetation

Link to catalogue record

Atlas of Billion-year earth history of Australia and neighbours in Gondwanaland (2001)

Link to catalogue record

The Conservation atlas of tropical forests. Asia and the Pacific (1991)

Link to catalogue record

Country matters: social atlas of rural and regional Australia (2004)

Link to catalogue record

Macquarie atlas of Indigenous Australia: culture and society through space and time (2005)

Link to catalogue record

The Penguin historical atlas of the Pacific (1998)

Link to catalogue record

Reef, range and red dust: the adventure atlas of Queensland (1993)

Link to catalogue record

The Times atlas of the world (1994)

Link to catalogue record

The 21st century world atlas (1998)

Link to catalogue record

The World Book atlas (2000)

Link to catalogue record



Websites

Useful web sites

Australian Cartographic Resources on the Internet

This site is maintained by the National Library of Australia. It provides links to a range of web-based cartographic sources.

Australian Geographic

 

Australian Landform Atlas

 

Coastal CRC

The Coastal CRC provides decision-making tools and knowledge necessary for the effective management and ecosystem health of Australia's coastal zone, estuaries and waterways.

State of the Environment reporting

In Australia, state of the environment (SoE) reporting occurs at both the national and state/territory level. Reports are available from this site.

World Factbook 2007

The World Factbook 2007 provides country-based information and statistics on topics such as geography, people, government, economy etc. It is produced by the CIA.


Compass icon Successful web searching
This page contains links to different search tools.

Compass icon Evaluating websites
This page discusses the importance of evaluating a website to determine if it is suitable for inclusion in an academic assignment, and provides links to resources which will show you how to do this.

Compass icon Internet Detective
This is an online tutorial which will help you develop your internet research skills. It was created by the University of Bristol and Manchester Metropolitan University.



Course Resources Online (CROs)

CROs are documents (book chapters, journal articles etc.) that a course co-ordinator for a particular course has asked be made available online.

Compass icon Course Resources Online
This page lists all of the courses with CROs. Click on the relevant course code to see what CROs are available for a particular course.

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library