Library Guides

@CQU Library

HIST11038 The Modern World Emerges

This guide will show you how to conduct a search for sources for your research assignments.

It is divided into the following topics:

The following topic is used as an example throughout this guide:

How did the European discoveries during the 16th and 17th centuries shape the world?


Planning your search

Whether you intend looking for information in a library catalogue, a journal database, or the internet, you will need a range of keywords  to search with.

Firstly, try brainstorming what you already know about the topic.

You might like to use concept maps, flow charts, lists or tables to organise your information.

The brainstorming process should make it easier to select keywords you can use in your search.

Your list of keywords should include:

Remember to also include:

Note:  If you’re having trouble thinking of keywords, you may like to try your textbook, or a dictionary, thesaurus or encyclopaedia.

Oxford Reference Online - History
This link will take you to the search screen for the history publications in Oxford Reference Online.


Note: 
Add to your list of keywords throughout your search - you are likely to come across terms that you had not thought of.


Searching the library catalogue

To find books on a particular topic, perform a keyword search in the Library catalogue:

Example: Keyword Search
keyword search
This search will return all records containing the word world, as well as the word history.
(More information on how to perform a keyword search.)

Example: Phrase Search
phrase search
This search will return all records containing the phrase world history i.e. where the words are together.
(More information on how to perform a phrase search.)
 

Note:  For more information, check out the How do I find books? section in 'Compass: Library Help Online'.

Note: 
Selecting a subject heading will link you to other items in the collection with the same subject heading. Each item in the CQU Library Catalogue has been allocated at least one subject heading. Once you have found a suitable book, make sure you have a look at the subject headings in the Complete Record.

Searching online databases

Journals are an excellent source of current information and research.

The easiest way to find journal articles on a particular topic is to search a database which contains references to journal articles.

The core databases for history are:

Database

More information

Expanded Academic ASAP

Search Guide

Humanities International Complete

 

JSTOR

 

ProQuest

Search Guide


Databases vary in the amount of information they provide about particular articles:

If the article you want is unavailable in full-text via the database you're  searching, you can use ArticleLinker to see if the article is available in another database or in hard copy on the Library shelves. 

Note:  For more information, check out the How do I find journal articles? section in 'Compass: Library Help Online'.

Note: 
There are different types of journals - make sure that the articles you choose come from academic or scholarly journals.

Searching the internet

Anyone can publish content on the Internet, and many websites are not subjected to the same sorts of evaluative processes used in traditional publishing methods like books and journals.

For example, to publish in a journal, the author must submit their article to a board of editors who, read the article and make recommendations for change until the article meets the standards of the journals reputation - or simply reject the article if it is not appropriate. In contrast, web publishing is open to all.

As a result, you need to evaluate websites yourself to ensure they are suitable for inclusion in your academic assignments and research.

The online tutorial, Internet Detective, will help you develop your internet research skills.

You may also like to search the following scholarly subject directories for suitable web sources:

Note:  Check out Successful Web Searching for links to search engines and other searching tools available on the Internet.

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library