Library Guides

@CQU Library

Australian History - Library Resource Guide

This guide lists different kinds of resources relevant to Australian History, including:

Compass icon This icon is used throughout this guide to indicate additional resources you may like to follow-up.


Please note:
You may be required to enter in your student number and e.rolment pin to access some of the resources listed in this guide.



Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic by locating background information and definitions or explanations of words and concepts.

Examples of print dictionaries and encyclopedias

Australian dictionary of biography. Volumes 1-14.

Link to the catalogue record

Australian encyclopedia (1996)

Link to catalogue record

The Australian people: an encyclopedia of the nation, its people and their origins (2001)

Link to catalogue record

The Cambridge encyclopedia of Australia (1994)

Link to the catalogue record

The Encyclopaedia of Aboriginal Australia : Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander history, society and culture (1994)

Link to catalogue record

Historical dictionary of Australia (1999)

Link to the catalogue record

The Oxford companion to Australian history (2001)

Link to the catalogue record


Compass icon Australian dictionary of biography. Volumes 1-16
This dictionary is freely available online.



Books

Books are an important source of information.  Books can provide you with specific information on a particular topic as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to Australian History.

Compass icon How do I find books?
These pages will show you how to use the Library Catalogue to search for books held by the Library.



Journal articles

Journal articles are excellent sources of current information and research. These resources will become increasingly important to you as you progress in your degree.

Compass icon How do I find journal articles?
These pages will show you how to search for articles in journals held by the Library.

Compass icon Databases by Subject: Listings related to History
This page provides links to databases containing content relevant to the study of history.



Websites

Compass icon Successful web searching
This page contains links to different search tools.

Compass icon Evaluating websites
This page discusses the importance of evaluating a website to determine if it is suitable for inclusion in an academic assignment, and provides links to resources which will show you how to do this.

Compass icon Internet Detective
This is an online tutorial which will help you develop your internet research skills. It was created by the University of Bristol and Manchester Metropolitan University.



Course Resources Online (CROs)

CROs are documents (book chapters, journal articles etc.) that a course co-ordinator for a particular course has asked be made available online.

Compass icon Course Resources Online
This page lists all of the courses with CROs. Click on the relevant course code to see what CROs are available for a particular course.

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library