Library Guides

@CQU Library

World History - Library Resource Guide

This guide lists different kinds of resources relevant to World History, including:

Compass icon This icon is used throughout this guide to indicate additional resources you may like to follow-up.


Please note:
You may be required to enter in your student number and e.rolment pin to access some of the resources listed in this guide.



Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic by locating background information and definitions or explanations of words and concepts.

Examples of print dictionaries and encyclopedias
Encyclopedia of historians and historical writing (1999) Link to catalogue record
The encyclopedia of political revolutions (1998) Link to catalogue record

Encyclopedia of world history (1998)

Link to catalogue record
Historical dictionary of pre-colonial Africa (2001) Link to catalogue record
The historical dictionary of world political geography: an encyclopaedic guide to the history on nations (2001) Link to catalogue record
The Oxford companion to American military history (1999) Link to catalogue record
The Penguin dictionary of twentieth-century history (1999) Link to catalogue record
World War II in the Pacific: an encyclopedia (2001) Link to catalogue record


Compass icon Oxford Reference Online - History
This link will take you to the search screen for the history publications in Oxford Reference Online.



Books

Books are an important source of information.  Books can provide you with specific information on a particular topic as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to World History.

Compass icon How do I find books?
These pages will show you how to use the Library Catalogue to search for books held by the Library.



Journal articles

Journal articles are excellent sources of current information and research. These resources will become increasingly important to you as you progress in your degree.

Compass icon How do I find journal articles?
These pages will show you how to search for articles in journals held by the Library.

Compass icon Databases by Subject: Listings related to History
This page provides links to databases containing content relevant to the study of history.



Websites

Useful websites
Australian Council of Professional Historians Associations Inc The Australian Council of Professional Historians Associations (ACPHA) was officially launched in 1996 to represent professional historians at the national level in Australia.
History Ethics Created by Sharon Stoerger at the University of Illinois, this directory links to online publications, case studies, codes, and professional organisations relating to history ethics.
History of Japan An annotated directory of internet sources maintained by the University of Redlands.
Internet resources for the history of North America Site maintained by Rutgers University.
Internet resources for the History of the British Isles Site maintained by Rutgers University.


Compass icon Successful web searching
This page contains links to different search tools.

Compass icon Evaluating websites
This page discusses the importance of evaluating a website to determine if it is suitable for inclusion in an academic assignment, and provides links to resources which will show you how to do this.

Compass icon Internet Detective
This is an online tutorial which will help you develop your internet research skills. It was created by the University of Bristol and Manchester Metropolitan University.



Course Resources Online (CROs)

CROs are documents (book chapters, journal articles etc.) that a course co-ordinator for a particular course has asked be made available online.

Compass icon Course Resources Online
This page lists all of the courses with CROs. Click on the relevant course code to see what CROs are available for a particular course.

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library