Library Guides

@CQU Library

Tourism - Library Resource Guide

This guide lists different kinds of resources relevant to the study of tourism, including:

This icon is used throughout this guide to indicate additional resources you may like to follow-up.


Please note:
You may be required to enter in your student number and e.rolment pin to access some of the resources listed in this guide.



Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic by locating background information and definitions or explanations of words and concepts.

Examples of print dictionaries and encyclopedias
Dictionary of concepts in recreation and leisure studies (1990) Link to the catalogue record
A dictionary of travel and tourism terminology (2002) Link to the catalogue record
Dictionary of travel, tourism and hospitality (1994) Link to the catalogue record
Dictionary of travel, tourism and hospitality terms (1996) Link to the catalogue record
Encyclopedia of tourism (2000) Link to the catalogue record


A-Z of Countries of the World (2004)
This resource is available online via the Oxford Reference Online database.

Travel Industry Dictionary
This dictionary is freely available online.



Books

Books are an important source of information.  Books can provide you with specific information on a particular topic as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to tourism.

How do I find books?
These pages will show you how to use the Library Catalogue to search for books held by the Library.



Journal articles

Journal articles are excellent sources of current information and research. These resources will become increasingly important to you as you progress in your degree.

How do I find journal articles?
These pages will show you how to search for articles in journals held by the Library.

Databases by Subject: Listings relating to 'Tourism'
This page provides links to databases containing content relevant to tourism.



Websites

Some useful websites
Australian Heritage Council The Australian Heritage Council is the principal adviser to the Australian Government on heritage matters. The Council assesses nominations for the National Heritage List and the Commonwealth Heritage List and compiles the Register of the National Estate. The
Department of Industry, Tourism & Resources The website for the Australian Government's Department of Industry, Tourism and Resources.
Ecotourism Australia Ecotourism Australia was formed in 1991 as an incorporated NPO, and is the peak national body for the ecotourism industry.
Pacific Asia Travel Association (PATA) PATA has represented the travel and tourism industry of Asia Pacific for more than half a century.
Tourism Australia Tourism Australia is the Federal Government statutory authority responsible for international and domestic tourism marketing as well as the delivery of research and forecasts for the sector.
Tourism Queensland Tourism Queensland is a statutory authority of the Queensland Government.
Tourism Research Australia Tourism Research Australia is a business unit of Tourism Australia providing superior research information that supports improved decision making, marketing and tourism industry performance for the benefit of the Australian community.
World Tourism Organization (WTO) The World Tourism Organization (UNWTO/OMT), a specialized agency of the United Nations, is the leading international organization in the field of tourism. It serves as a global forum for tourism policy issues and practical source of tourism know-how.


Successful web searching
This page contains links to different search tools.

Evaluating websites
This page discusses the importance of evaluating a website to determine if it is suitable for inclusion in an academic assignment, and provides links to resources which will show you how to do this.

Internet Detective
This is an online tutorial which will help you develop your internet research skills. It was created by the University of Bristol and Manchester Metropolitan University.



Course Resources Online (CROs)

CROs are documents (book chapters, journal articles etc.) that a course co-ordinator for a particular course has asked be made available online.

Course Resources Online
This page lists all of the courses with CROs. Click on the relevant course code to see what CROs are available for a particular course.

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library