Library Guides

@CQU Library

Biomedical Science Program Guide

This guide is designed as a starting point to assist you in locating information for the Biomedical Science discipline. Where appropriate you will be directed to other library resources which may also assist you with your studies.

 


Starting your research

More help?

Thinking about your topic

Identifying the type of information you need

Concepts, keywords, synonyms and related terms

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of the topic area by locating some background information, definitions or explanations of words and concepts.

Biomedical Science dictionaries and encyclopedias

Biomaterials : principles and applications

610.284 1

Dictionary of biomedical sciences

610.3 24

Dictionary of genetics, A

575.103 2

Dictionary of immunology

571.9603 1/1995

Encyclopedia of bioethics

174.203 1/1995

Encyclopedia of forensic sciences

363.2503 1

Encyclopedia of immunology

616.07903 1/1998

Encyclopedia of genetics

576.503 1

Encyclopedia of life sciences

Available Online

Encyclopedia of Forensic Sciences

Available through Science Direct

New York Public Library science desk reference, The

500 211

 

Return to top of page


Library catalogue

More help?

Known item searching

Keyword searching

Subject-heading searching

Phrase searching

AND/OR/NOT Boolean searching

Where is the resource located?

Is the resource available?

The CQU Library Catalogue is the database of all items (books, videos, audiocassettes, print journals and online fulltext journals, etc) held by the CQU library.

Examples of Biomedical Science keywords

bioethics

biotechnology

blood

biomedical

cells

clinical assessment

DNA

encyclopedia OR encyclopaedia

enzymes

ethics

genes

genetics

immune system

laboratory

law

pathology

physiology

protein

 

Examples of Biomedical Science subject headings

biomedical technicians

biomedical engineering

biomedical materials

biotechnology -- moral and ethical aspects

developmental genetics

genetic engineering -- moral and ethical aspects

genetic engineering -- law and legislation -- Australia

medical instruments and apparatus


Return to top of page


Databases for finding journal articles

More help?

About journals

About databases

Passwords

For a list of databases relevant to the Biomedical Science discipline, check out:
Databases & Resources by Subject: Biomedical Science

Some suggested Databases

Liebert Online

Authoritative peer-reviewed journals covering biotechnology, biomedical research/life sciences, clinical medicine and surgery, and law.

ScienceDirect

Electronic collection of science, technology and medicine full text and bibliographic information.

 


Return to top of page


Information on the World Wide Web

More help?

Successful web searching

Searching for information on the World Wide Web can be a huge task. Here are some websites you may like to begin with.

General Biomedical Science

Biology Links

created by the Department of Molecular & Cellular Biology, Harvard University

BioOnline

From their site "BIO.COM ® exists to facilitate the exchange of information within the life sciences, biotechnology and pharmaceutical industries."

BioResearch

BioResearch offers free access to a searchable catalogue of quality reviewed Internet resources covering the biological and biomedical sciences; including genetics, biotechnology, virology, biochemistry and molecular biology

CMS Molecular Biology Resource

From the site: "A compendium of electronic and Internet-accessible tools and resources for Molecular Biology, Biotechnology, Molecular Evolution, Biochemistry, and Biomolecular Modeling"

International Union of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Recommendations on Biochemical & Organic Nomenclature, Symbols & Terminology

MathMol Library

Library of 3-D Molecular Structures

National Center for Biotechnology Information

From the site: "Established in 1988 as a national resource for molecular biology information, NCBI creates public databases, conducts research in computational biology, develops software tools for analyzing genome data, and disseminates biomedical information"

 

Genetics 

GeneClinics

developed at the University of Washington, Seattle

Human Genome Project Information

Completed in 2003, the Human Genome Project (HGP) was a 13-year project coordinated by the U.S. Department of Energy and the National Institutes of Health.

Yahoo Biotechnology Genetic Engineering Directory

 

 

Metabolism

DIY Glycolysis Homepage

produced by Jon Maber, a member of the department of Biochemistry & Molecular Biology in the University of Leeds.

Glycolysis Summary

Elmhurst College Virtual Chembook

 

Protein

RCSB Protein and Nucleic Acid Databases

maintained by the Research Collaboratory for Structural Bioinformatics

Structural Bioinformatics Lab

Research in the Structural Bioinformatics lab, headed by Sandor Vajda, focuses on the recognition of proteins and small molecules by protein receptors.

SwissProt

an annotated protein sequence database

 

 

Professional Associations

Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Australian Society for Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

The Australian Society for Microbiology

The Australian Society for Microbiology

Biomedical Engineering Society

The purpose of the Society is: "To promote the increase of biomedical engineering knowledge and its utilization."


Return to top of page


Other resources you might like to try


Return to top of page


Wrapping up

More help?

Evaluating your resources

CQU's referencing website

What is plagiarism?

It is now time to evaluate and use and reference the information you have located.

At university level it is important to rely on information that meets the standards expected by your lecturers. In many cases your arguments should be supported by what are termed scholarly or "peer-reviewed" publications.

When citing other peoples work in your assignments, it is vital that it is correctly referenced
 

 

 


Return to top of page

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library