Library Guides

@CQU Library

ACCT20054 - Advanced Corporate Accounting Course Guide

This guide is designed to assist you in locating information for ACCT20054 - Advanced Corporate Accounting.

For Assessment Item 1, you are required to analyse accounting information from an annual report using the Australian Accounting Standards. This guide is designed to assist you in locating an annual report using the Connect 4 database and to locate the Australian Accounting Standards online.

You will also find a range of links to other useful sources of information for accounting.

 


Identifying keywords

More Help?

Thinking about your topic

Concepts, keywords, synonyms and related terms

 

Start by reading your assignment thoroughly to identify what you need to do and what you need to use to complete the assessment.

For this report, you are required to choose one from a choice of  ten questions. Below are each of the questions and some suggested keywords

Topic 1: 1.“Accounting Standard setting is as much political as technical.”
Do you agree with this statement? Why, or why not?
Explain your answer in light of the objectives, process and outcomes of standard setting activities in Australia and at the IASB.

Keyword or keyword phrase:

accounting standards

political

technical

Synonym or related words:

comparability

lobbying

efficient

 

Synonym or related words:

consistency

stakeholders

 

 

Topic 2: 1.“The Conceptual Framework is like a constitution of accounting. Therefore, the AASB conceptual framework will ensure consistency across all standards and eliminate all possibilities of misleading reporting by corporate Australia.”
Is this a valid claim in your opinion? Explain what do you know about the form, contents, and purpose of the AASB’s conceptual framework, and why and how it may, or may not be able to eliminate misleading reporting by companies.

Keyword or keyword phrase:

accounting standards

conceptual framework

reporting

Synonym or related words:

comparability

financial statements

Synonym or related words:

transparency

 

disclosure

 

Topic 3: “Accounting for Intangible Assets is a major problem in a knowledge industry.”
What is a knowledge industry? Name some businesses that belong to the knowledge industry.
What are the accounting challenges in a knowledge industry? Do you agree with the above statement? Why, or Why not? Critically evaluate the above statement in light of your research on accounting for intangible assets.

Keyword or keyword phrase:

intangible

assets

knowledge industry

Synonym or related words:

unknown

resources

knowledge economy

Synonym or related words:

invisible

patents

knowledge management


Top of page


Dictionaries and Glossaries

Dictionaries and encyclopaedias are often a good place to begin your research as they can be used to clarify the meaning of key terms in your assignments.  They may also suggest other words or phrases you can use in your searching.

Useful online dictionaries and glossaries

Oxford Reference Online

Library database providing access to over 100 subject and language dictionaries and other reference works

Australian Tax Office Definitions

A list of terms and definitions used by the Australian Taxation Office.

Investopedia

An American website containing financial and investment information.

The Glossarist

A collection of links to a wide range of online glossaries (a glossary is a list of words on a topic with explanations of their meaning).  The link to the left takes you to the accounting glossaries.

Your Dictionary.com

Contains links to numerous subject dictionaries, including accounting, business and finance.

 


Top of page


 

 

Finding Australian Accounting Standards

The Australian Accounting and Auditing Standards database can be located by searching the library catalogue for the title Australian Accounting and Auditing Standards. A guide on how to locate these standards is available.

 


Top of page



 

More help?

Starting your search

Finding journal articles

Databases for finding journal articles

For a list of databases relevant to Accounting, go to:
Databases & Resources by Subject: Accounting

 


Top of page


 

Wrapping up

More help?

Evaluating your resources

CQU's referencing and plagiarism website

Business and Informatics Guide for Students

When writing your assignment, remember to check the criteria and objectives listed in your course profile.

When citing other peoples work in your assignments, it is vital that it be correctly referenced.  As noted in the assessment criteria, marks can be deducted for incorrect referencing.

 


Top of page


 

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

Liaison Librarian - Business