Library Guides
@CQU Library
This guide has been designed to assist you to locate information for Assessment item 1 - Essay in the course ACCT29083 - Theory of Accounting.
Analysing the Assessment topic
For this assignment, you are required to select and answer one of the following topics:
|
More help? |
|
|
Critically analyse the above statement. How would you reconcile the debate between the two types of accounting theories?
Do you think there is room for both types of theories in accounting?
Explain your answer with suitable examples.
OR
Do you agree with the above statement? Why, or why not?
Do you believe the share market relies on historical cost? Give examples.
Conduct a critical analysis of the three alternative valuation models to articulate your answer.
The first step in searching for information is to work out the key words in the topic that will help you locate information to answer the assignment.
When searching using keywords you need to keep in mind how specific the chosen keywords are. Accounting as a keyword for example is a very broad term. Searching only for accounting will return a large number of results which may not be relevant to your needs.
Your searches can be made more precise by choosing more specific keywords or by combining a broad term with others.
For example,
Topic 1: normative theories AND positive theories And
comparison
OR
Topic 2: historical cost accounting AND (current price accounting OR
exit price accounting).
Many electronic sources, such as the Library Catalogue and databases, allow you to expand or narrow your search by combining multiple keywords.
It can also be helpful to identify synonyms and related terms to provide further search terms to use. You may also find it useful to identify particular theories to search, rather than using a general term such as positive accounting. Examples of a positive theory may be 'efficient markets hypothesis' or 'captial market research'
Topic 1:
|
Keyword or keyword phrase: |
normative | positive | comparison |
| Synonym or related words: | prescriptive | descriptive | relationship |
| Synonym or related words: | true income(profit) | explanatory | contrast |
| Synonym or related words: | decision usefulness | predictive | complement |
| Synonym or related words: | measurement system | empirical methodology | difference |
| Synonym or related words: | moral / just outcomes | behaviour based outcomes | |
|
Synonym or related words: |
deductive framework | real world outcomes |
Topic 2:
|
Keyword or keyword phrase: |
historical cost accounting | current cost accounting | exit price accounting | share market | valuation |
| Synonym or related words: | measurement | CCA | current cash equivalents (CCE) | stock exchange | inventory valuation |
| financial capital maintenance | continuously contemporary accounting |
disclosure
|
asset valuation | ||
| physical capital maintenance | current market selling prices | reporting | |||
|
Synonym or related words: |
gains/losses | inflation adjusted |
If you are unsure of the meaning of a term, start by dong some background reading in a textbook to gain some understanding of the topic and to help identify relevant terms. The textbook for this course includes a good overview of the types of accounting theories for both topics.
You may also find thesauri and dictionaries useful to find definitions of terms, and encyclopedias will also provide a good introduction to a topic.
You may also find it useful to identify key authors for your topic:
For example,
Topic 1: Positive Accounting theory -
Watts and Zimmerman
OR
Topic 2: current cost accounting - Bell and Edwards
exit price accounting - Raymond Chambers, Robert Sterling, Kenneth
MacNeal
To locate textbooks and other useful books, search the library catalogue by keyword, for example "accounting theory".
A useful online dictionary is listed below.
|
Dictionaries and Encyclopedias |
|
|
(electronic resource) |
Go to Search within a Subject and select Economics and Business |
It is also important to locate any key documents or sources that are mentioned in the assignment topic. Each of the assessment topics require the analysis of key sources.
Course Resources Online, or CROs provide access to a collection of digitized copyright journal articles and/or book chapters to enhance access to limited print resources.
Select your course code to access the CRO documents available for that course.
|
More help? |
For both parts of your assignment, you must use library databases to locate academic journal articles. Information about search strategies and scholarly academic journals can be found in the More help? to the right.
The databases mentioned below may contain academic and non-academic journals. Each database contains comprehensive help pages for constructing searches and restricting to scholarly academic journals only.
A complete list of journal databases relevant to the accounting discipline at:
Databases & Resources by Subject: Accounting
For the purposes of this assignment, it is recommended that you start with the following databases. You may wish to try others.
|
Some suggested databases |
| Expanded Academic |
| Emerald |
| ScienceDirect |
Google Scholar is a version of the Google search engine that allows you to search scholarly literature to find information relating to your topic. It contains peer-reviewed papers, theses, books, abstracts and articles, from academic publishers, professional societies, preprint repositories, universities and other scholarly organizations.
Google scholar is freely available on the internet to search.
Google Scholar can be accessed through the SearchSmart page by selecting the letter 'G' under 'Browse Databases by Title'. You can set Google Scholar to identify whether articles are held at CQU Library and possibly other libraries you have access to. To do this, go to Google Scholar and click the link 'Scholar Preferences' Type Central Queensland University in the box labelled 'Library Links'. Tick the checkbox next to Central Queensland University and then click Save Preferences in the top right corner.

To structure your search effectively, use the Advanced search screen. There is a link to the advanced search on the right of the search button.

Google Scholar search results will include book references as well as journal articles and research papers. Some are freely available on the web, whereas others are not. For book results, a preview of the relevant sections may be available.

If the result does not have the 'Full Text @ CQU Library' link next to it, click the title to see if you are able to access the item. If the full text is not available, search the CQU Library Catalogue to see if the item is available in the library.
A useful feature of Google Scholar is the ability to check which other articles are related to this article. Click on the link 'Related Articles' to see which articles are on similar topics.
You can also see which other articles have cited this article in their reference list. This is a useful way to find more recent articles relating to your topic. To see which other authors have used an article to help form their ideas, click the link 'Cited by'.
|
More help? |
When writing your assignment, remember to check the criteria and objectives listed in your course profile.
When citing other peoples work in your assignments, it is vital that it be correctly referenced. As noted in the assessment criteria, marks can be deducted for incorrect referencing.
CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D
Comments to:
Liaison Librarian - Business and Law