Library Guides

@CQU Library

Human Resources Management Subject Guide

This guide is designed to assist you in locating information for human resources management courses. In addition to links to information you will also find links to other library guides and resources.


Starting your research

More help?

Thinking about your topic

Finding Keywords and Related Terms

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are useful for finding definitions or explanations of words and concepts.  These publications may be available in print or electronic format.

The Library Catalogue can be used to search for additional titles and the collection of Web Reference Sources may contain other online sources.

 

 

Useful human resources management dictionaries & encyclopedias:

Print

The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of human resource management

Call no. R 658.3003 2

The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of organizational behavior

Call no. R 302.3503 1/1998

The CCH Macquarie dictionary of employment and industrial relations

Call no. R 331.03 1

Online

A Dictionary of Business (available from Oxford Reference Online)


Top of page


Library Catalogue

More help?

Known item searching

Keyword searching

AND/OR/NOT Boolean searching

Subject-heading searching

The CQU Library Catalogue is the database of all items (books, videos, audiocassettes, print journals and online fulltext journals, etc) held by the CQU library.

To find items on a topic you can form a keyword search or a subject heading search.  Some examples are given below.

 

 

 

Example keyword combinations:

employees AND recruiting

wages AND "industrial relations"

"organizational behaviour" OR "organisational behaviour"

"human resource management" AND australia

supervision OR leadership

"applications for positions" OR resumes

 

Subject headings for human resources management:

personnel management

applications for positions

psychology, industrial

supervision of employees

career development

diversity in the workplace

employee motivation

manpower planning

employee selection

employees -- recruiting

job analysis

compensation management

job evaluation

incentives in industry

management

 

Top of page


Databases for finding journal articles

More help?

About journals

What are refereed journals

About databases

Passwords

For a list of databases relevant to Human Resources Management go to:

Databases & Resources by Subject: Management

 

 

Top of page


 

Information on the World Wide Web

More help?

Successful web searching

Searching for information on the World Wide Web can be a huge task. Here are some websites you may like to begin with.


Human resources management web sites

Australian Council of Trade Unions (ACTU)

This web site provides information about Australia's peak council and national centre representing the nation's workforce.

Australian Department of Employment and Workplace Relations (DEWR)

Aims to maximise the ability of all Australians of working age to find work, particularly those that face the most severe barriers to work; and support strong employment growth and the improved productive performance of enterprises in Australia

Australian Government Business Entry Point

An online government resource for the Australian business community providing business with a wide range of services and information about start-up, taxation, licensing and legislation, as well as significant transactions such as taxation compliance and licence applications.

Australian Human Resources Institute (AHRI)

Australia's leading human resources professional body.

Australian Industrial Relations Commission (AIRC)

The focus of the site is to provide the latest AIRC decisions, awards, transcripts and related information.

Australian Institute of Management (AIM)

As the largest professional body for managers, the AIM promotes and facilitates management and leadership excellence.

Australian Office of the Employment Advocate (OEA)

Provides assistance and advice to employers (especially in small business) and employees on the Workplace Relations Act 1996 and  Australian workplace agreements (AWAs)

HR Internet Guide

The main page of this site provides links to masses of pages on HR topics, divided into groups such as job analysis, selection and staffing, employee behavior problems, and human resource information systems.

HRM Guide Australia

One of a number of guides to worldwide human resource management information. There are a number of linked websites with articles, features, research and books on human resources. (To get to HRM info for another country, go to HRM Guide - countries include Canada, the USA and the UK.)

Queensland Department of Employment and Training

Queensland's entry point to jobs, careers and training, apprenticeships and traineeships, and employment and training government assistance.

Queensland Department of Industrial Relations

Provides advisory services about compliance, training and education, and access to the Industrial Relations Information Service (IRIS).

Wagenet

This site provides information about wages and conditions of employment covered by federal awards and agreements in Australia.

 

Top of page


Statistics

More Help?

Finding statistical information

For online statistics relating to human resources management, see CQU Library's Statistics page, which provides links to statistical data from both Australia and overseas.

 

Top of page


 

More help?

Evaluating your resources

CQU's referencing website

What is plagiarism?

Make sure to...

Top of page

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

Business and Law Librarian