Library Guides

@CQU Library

Law Subject Guide

This guide is designed to assist you in locating information for law and taxation courses. In addition to links to information you will also find links to other library guides and resources.


 

Starting your research

More help?

Thinking about your topic

Identifying the type of information you need

Concepts, keywords, synonyms and related terms

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are useful for finding definitions or explanations of words and concepts.  These publications may be available in print or electronic format.

The Library Catalogue can be used to search for additional titles and the collection of Web Reference Sources may contain other online sources.

 

 

 

Useful law dictionaries & encyclopedias

Print resources

Black's law dictionary

Call no. 340.03 6/1999

Butterworths Australian legal dictionary

Call no. R 349.9403 7

Butterworths  business and law dictionary

Call no. R 346.0703 1

Butterworths concise legal dictionary

Call no. R 349.9403 8

Osborn's concise law dictionary

Call no. R 340.03 5/2001

Online resources

The Law of eCommerce

Contains comprehensive commentary on the law relating to e-commerce in Australia, including reference to cases and legislation, and forms and precedents.

Halsbury's Laws of Australia

Halsbury's Laws of Australia is a concise yet comprehensive legal encyclopaedia covering all Australian law. It provides definitive statements of the law supported by primary authority contained in detailed footnotes. Halsbury's covers 89 subject areas and all nine Australian jurisdictions. To help research, Halsbury's includes a consolidated index and consolidated tables of cases and
statutes.

Oxford Reference Online

Contains A Dictionary of Law and The Oxford Guide to United States Supreme Court Decisions

 

Top of page


 

Library Catalogue

More help?

Known item searching

Keyword searching

AND/OR/NOT Boolean searching

Subject-heading searching

The CQU Library Catalogue is the database of all items (books, videos, audiocassettes, print journals and online fulltext journals, etc) held by the CQU library.

To find items on a topic you can form a keyword search or a subject heading search.  Some examples are given below.

 

 

Keywords

negligence AND law

"social work" AND law

precedent AND law

law AND Australia AND history

law AND Australia AND contract

"native title" AND law AND Australia

 

Subject headings for law

law

jurisprudence

justice

natural law

commercial law

conflict of laws

 constitutions contracts

courts

culture and law

law and ethics

lawyers

legal aid

legal authorities

legal documents

company law

legal research

legal services

practice of law

arbitration and award

dispute resolution (law)

negotiation

intervention (international law)

judgments

 

Top of page


 

Law databases

More help?

About journals

What are refereed journals

About databases

Passwords

For a list of databases relevant to Law go to:

Databases & Resources by Subject: Law

 

 

Top of page


 

Legislation

Most recent Australian legislation is available free from government websites. 

If legislation is not online it may be available in print, either as Acts as passed or as reprints or compilations.

 

Legislation resources

Legislation

AustLII - the Australian Legal Information Institute

AustLII provides access to acts and case law of the Commonwealth of Australia and most other Australian jurisdictions, courts and tribunals.

Queensland Legislation

Queensland Legislation including current and repealed Queensland reprints, Acts and Subordinate Legislation as Passed from 1991 to current.

ComLaw

ComLaw contains all legislation of the Commonwealth and non self-governing Territories (and related material such as Reserved Commonwealth Laws, Bills, explanatory memoranda/statements, tables, indexes and other finding aids).

Bills

BillsNet

Provides access to all federal bills. Includes House daily bills list, Senate daily bills update and list, current bills, old bills, excise tariff proposals and custom tariff proposals.

Hansard

Parliament of Australia Hansard

Provides access to the Senate Hansard, the House of Representatives Hansard and Senate, House of Representatives and Joint Committee transcripts.

Queensland Hansard

Hansard produces electronic and hard copy transcripts of the debates of the parliament, evidence given before parliamentary committees and the proceedings of other tribunals.

 

Top of page


 

Case Law

Successful legal research can require significant expertise.  Here we restrict ourselves to finding known cases and simple subject searching.

If you have a reference to a particular case, i.e. its citation, e.g.

Mabo v Queensland (No.2) (1992) 172 CLR 1; 107 ALR 1; 66 ALJR 408

you should search the CQU Library Catalogue for the title of the report series.  Abbreviations of report titles can be found in the indexes below and may be found in law dictionaries.

In the example above, 172 CLR 1 - means Volume 172 of the Commonwealth Law Reports at page 1.  As you can see, this case was reported in three separate series of reports.

If you have access only to the name of a case, e.g. Wood v Glaxo Australia Pty Ltd [1994] you will need to consult the Australian Case Citator to see where, or if, it was reported or, especially if you are working on-line, access AustLII to see if the case is available there.

If you are searching for cases on a particular legal issue it may be best to start by searching for a reference work that will refer to the most important cases in that area.  You could start with Halsbury's Laws of Australia (online) and then try a keyword search of the catalogue for works on the area of law you are researching.  If you are simply looking for a case that discusses, for example (forensic evidence and fingerprints), you could try searching AustLII, Queensland Judgments or Lexis.

 

Case law resources

Indexes

Cardiff Index to Legal Abbreviations

A searchable index of abbreviations used in citations of law reports.

Australian Case Citator

Call no. S348.94047 1

Finding individual cases

Commonwealth Law Reports

See Austlii or Lexis for cases decided after 2004.

 

Call no. S 348.9404 2

Federal Law Reports

See Austlii or Lexis for cases decided after 2004.

Call no. S 348.9494 1

Queensland Reports

See Austlii or Lexis for cases decided after 2005.

 

Call no. S348.94304 2

All England Law Reports

See Lexis for cases decided after 2002.

 

Call no. S348.41 1

Lexis.com
 

This database provides access to a number of Australian and international reports including:

Administrative Law Decisions (Australia)
Australian Law Reports (ALR)
Australia - Intellectual Property Reports
Family Law Reports (Australia)
Australian Capital Territory Reports (ACTR)
Motor Vehicle Reports (Australia)
Australian Company Law Reports
Northern Territories Reports
Australian Corporations and Securities Reports
Victorian Reports (VR)

Some unreported judgments are also available via Lexis.

Queensland Judgments

Provides access to judgments handed down in Queensland courts.

AustLII

AustLII provides access to case law of the Commonwealth of Australia and most other Australian jurisdictions, courts and tribunals

Finding cases on a given legal issue

Halsbury's Laws of Australia

Halsbury's Laws of Australia is a concise yet comprehensive legal encyclopaedia covering all Australian law. It provides definitive statements of the law supported by primary authority contained in detailed footnotes. Halsbury's covers 89 subject areas and all nine Australian jurisdictions. To help research, Halsbury's includes a consolidated index and consolidated tables of cases and
statutes.

 

Top of page


 

 

Resources for specific areas of law

Company and corporations law

Australian Corporations and Securities Reports
(Access via Lexis.com)

This series of law reports contains judgments from 1989 to current from all Australian jurisdictions and covers the full range of corporations and securities law.

Australian Company Law Cases
(Access via CCH Online)

Provides reports of Australian company law and securities decisions, including decisions of the Takeovers Panel, and selected cases from overseas jurisdictions, from 1971 to the present time.

Fords Principles of Corporations Law
 

A subject-based analysis of the principles of corporations legislation, dealing with the creation, operation and winding up of a company, building from basic legal principles, case law and legislation.

Tax law

Tax point

TAXPOINT combines more than 50 databases to provide complete information about laws on income tax, goods and services tax, capital gains tax, fringe benefits tax, superannuation and other areas of federal taxation law.

Family law

CCH Family Law Library
(Access via CCH Online)

A comprehensive collection covering legislation, cases and commentary on family law and child support.  Includes the Family Law Handbook.

Occupational health and safety law

Australian OH&S Online

The IHS Australian Occupational Health and Safety File is a comprehensive collection of state and federal legislation, codes of practice, guidelines, handbooks, conference proceedings, research reports, safety bulletins and other documents.

E-commerce

The Law of eCommerce

Contains comprehensive commentary on the law relating to e-commerce in Australia, including reference to cases and legislation, and forms and precedents.

 

Top of page


 

Information on the World Wide Web

More help?

Successful web searching

Searching for information on the World Wide Web can be a huge task. Here are some websites you may like to begin with.

 

 

Law web sites

Abbreviations of law reports

A list of commonly used law report abbreviations by the Murdoch University Library.

Australian law on the internet

National Library of Australia web page with links to numerous legal web sites, on a variety of topics. The 'law by subject' section is particularly useful if you are investigating a particular aspect of law, for example Aboriginal Law.

Australian law online

Australian Government web site, providing access to Government legal information and services.

Australian Law Reform Commission

The commission conducts inquiries, called references, into areas of law reform as requested by the Attorney-General.

Catalaw

The catalogue of catalogues of worldwide law on the Internet. It aids legal research by arranging all indexes of law and government into a uniform, universal and unique meta-index.

FindLaw Australia

Provides numerous law links for legal professionals, students & businesses.

Law Council of Australia

Information about the Law Council's role, history, structure and current activities.

Law internet resources

Department of the Federal Parliamentary Library web page with links to various web sites and grouped by country (including Australia) or topic (e.g. Constitutional Law).

Researching Australian law

An excellent comprehensive overview of Australian law and legal systems, along with his recommendations for the best law resources.

Social Science Research Network (SSRN)

A digital network devoted to the rapid worldwide dissemination of social science research, composed of a number of specialized research networks in each of the social sciences.

WebLaw

A gateway to Internet resources on Australian law, put together by a co-operative of law librarians from various Australian universities. Topics covered include taxation law, intellectual property, industrial law and environmental law.

 

Top of page


 

Make sure to...

More help?

Evaluating your resources

CQU's referencing website

What is plagiarism?

 

 

Top of page

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

Business and Law Librarian