Library Guides

@CQU Library

Management and Administration Subject Guide

This guide is designed to assist you in locating information for management and administration courses. In addition to links to information you will also find links to other library guides and resources..

 


 

Starting your research

More help?

Thinking about your topic

Identifying the type of information you need

Concepts, keywords, synonyms and related terms

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are useful for finding definitions or explanations of words and concepts.  These publications may be available in print or electronic format.

The Library Catalogue can be used to search for additional titles and the collection of Web Reference Sources may contain other online sources.

 

 

Useful management dictionaries & encyclopedias

Print

The Blackwell encyclopedia of management

Call no. R 658 347

The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of international management

Call no. R 658.04903 1

The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of management information systems

Call no. R 658.4038011 56

The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of operations management

Call no. R 658.5003 1

The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of strategic management

Call no. R 658.401203 2

Online

A Dictionary of Business (available from Oxford Reference Online)

 

Top of page


 

Library Catalogue

More help?

Known item searching

Keyword searching

AND/OR/NOT Boolean searching

Subject-heading searching

The CQU Library Catalogue is the database of all items (books, videos, audiocassettes, print journals and online fulltext journals, etc) held by the CQU library.

To find items on a topic you can form a keyword search or a subject heading search.  Some examples are given below.

 

 

Keywords  

management OR administration

competition AND change

"total quality management"

strategy OR planning

administration AND non-profit

"process reengineering"

 

Subject headings for management and administration

management

industrial relations

organization

communication in management

conflict management

industrial management

executives

knowledge management

organizational behaviour

organizational change

organizational effectiveness

personnel management

project management

risk management

total quality management

reengineering (management)

 

Top of page


 

Databases for finding journal articles

More help?

About journals

What are refereed journals

About databases

Passwords

For a list of databases relevant to management and administration, go to:
Databases & Resources by Subject: Management

 

 

 

Top of page


 

Information on the World Wide Web

More help?

Successful web searching

Searching for information on the World Wide Web can be a huge task. Here are some websites you may like to begin with.

 

 

Management-related web sites

American Productivity and Quality Center (APQC)

An internationally recognized resource for process and performance improvement, APQC helps organizations adapt to rapidly changing environments, build new and better ways to work, and succeed in a competitive marketplace

Australian Institute of Management (AIM)

As the largest professional body for managers, the AIM promotes and facilitates management and leadership excellence.

Australian Journal of Management

Published by the University of New South Wales Graduate School of Management, all abstracts and full-text articles from 1991 to the latest publication issue are in PDF format.

Business case studies and surveys

This database has been designed to help the Australian academic, business and government sectors by a partnership between Monash University and Austrade. Topics include knowledge management, supply chain management, business development and more.

Business ethics

Created by Sharon Stoerger at the University of Illinois, this directory links to online publications, case studies, codes, and professional organisations relating to business ethics.

Corporate governance resources

A collection of online resources gathered by the World Bank Group providing an overview and trends dealing with the issues of corporate governance.

European Foundation for Management Development (EFMD)

The largest international network association in the field of management development.

The Open Directory Project

A directory of management sites by subjects.

 

Top of page


 

Statistics

More Help?

Finding statistical information

For online statistics relating to management and administration, see CQU Library's Statistics page, which provides links to statistical data from both Australia and overseas.

Top of page


 

Make sure to...

More help?

Evaluating your resources

CQU's referencing website

What is plagiarism?

 

 

 

 

Top of page


 

 

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

Business and Law Librarian