Library Guides

@CQU Library

Marketing Subject Guide

This guide is designed to assist you in locating information for marketing courses. In addition to links to information you will also find links to other library guides and resources..

 


 

Starting your research

More help?

Thinking about your topic

Identifying the type of information you need

Concepts, keywords, synonyms and related terms

Dictionaries and encyclopedias are useful for finding definitions or explanations of words and concepts.  These publications may be available in print or electronic format.

The Library Catalogue can be used to search for additional titles and the collection of Web Reference Sources may contain other online sources.

 

 

 

Useful marketing dictionaries & encyclopedias

Print

 

The Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of marketing

Call no. 658.8003 12

Dictionary of marketing terms

Call no.  658.8003 10/1995

Marketing encyclopedia: issues and trends shaping the future

Call no.  658.8003 9

Online

A Dictionary of Business (available from Oxford Reference Online)

 

Top of page


 

Library Catalogue

More help?

Known item searching

Keyword searching

AND/OR/NOT Boolean searching

Subject-heading searching

The CQU Library Catalogue is the database of all items (books, videos, audiocassettes, print journals and online fulltext journals, etc) held by the CQU library.

To find items on a topic you can form a keyword search or a subject heading search.  Some examples are given below.

 

 

Keywords  

marketing OR advertising

advertising AND profit

"direct marketing"

advertising OR promotion

marketing AND Australia

"market segmentation"

 

Subject headings for marketing

marketing

advertising

selling

television advertising

new products

internet advertising

sales promotion

market surveys

sales management

selling

market segmentation

public relations

export marketing

publicity

direct marketing

communication in marketing

industrial marketing

target marketing

internet marketing

green marketing

relationship marketing

social marketing

 

Top of page


 

Databases for finding journal articles

More help?

About journals

What are refereed journals

About databases

Passwords

For a list of databases relevant to marketing, go to:
Databases & Resources by Subject: Marketing

 

 

 

Top of page


 

Market information

The Marketline contains reports on companies and markets for a range of goods and services in many countries around the globe. It also contains economic and demographic indicators for over 200 countries and a range of market data and forecasts on values, volumes, growth & company shares.

Factiva also contains some market and company information.

Top of page


 

Information on the World Wide Web

More help?

Successful web searching

Searching for information on the World Wide Web can be a huge task. Here are some websites you may like to begin with.

 

Marketing-related web sites

Advertising Age

A U.S. trade magazine, which offers the Ad Age Dataplace, providing market information of the top products and services.

Advertising Federation of Australia (AFA)

The AFA is a professional association representing companies in advertising and marketing communications to industry, government, media and the public.

Australian Market & Social Research Society (AMSRS)

A not-for-profit professional body that is dedicated to increasing the standard and understanding of market research in Australia.

American Marketing Association (AMA)

Information may be searched by categories of users such as managers, educators, researchers, etc

Australian Marketing Institute (AMI)

The AMI represents professional marketers throughout Australia, including practitioners from all marketing functions and industries.

Australian Federation of Advertising

The AFA is a professional association representing companies in advertising and marketing communications to industry, government, media and the public.

KnowThis.com

A comprehensive site on many aspects of marketing.

Market Research World

The Market Research Portal (MRP) offers a host of online resources and research related articles being highly relevant to market research buyers, researchers, newcomers to the industry, students and individuals with an interest in the market research industry.

Nilewide marketing review

Provides reviews, analyses and interpretations of articles, web sites and other information sources about issues in strategic marketing.

Reveries

Offers thought-provoking ideas and information about issues in the marketing industry.

SOSIG

The Social Science Information Gateway is a portal to selected information on the Web, including marketing and communications information.

 

Top of page


 

Statistics

More Help?

Finding statistical information

For online statistics relating to marketing, see CQU Library's Marketing Statistics page, which provides links to statistical data from both Australia and overseas.

Top of page


 

Make sure to...

More help?

Evaluating your resources

CQU's referencing website

What is plagiarism?

 

 

 

 

Top of page


 

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

Business and Law Librarian