Library Guides

@CQU Library

Chemistry Science Program Guide

This guide is designed as a starting point to assist you in locating information for the Chemistry discipline. Where appropriate you will be directed to other library resources which may also assist you with your studies.


Starting your research

More help?

Thinking about your topic

Identifying the type of information you need

Concepts, keywords, synonyms and related terms

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of the topic area by locating some background information, definitions or explanations of words and concepts.

The Library Catalogue can be searched using 'dictionary' or 'encyclopedia' as a keyword.  Information on the use of the Library Catalogue can be found in the next section.

Below is a sampling of useful reference sources for chemistry studies.  Search for these items by title in the Library Catalogue:


Chemistry dictionaries and encyclopedias

Hawley's condensed chemical dictionary

540.3 7/1997

Access Science

Available Online

Kirk-Othmer Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology

Available online through catalogue

Dictionary of chemistry

Available online through catalogue

Industrial inorganic chemicals and products : an Ullmann's encyclopedia

R 661.003 1

Encyclopedic dictionary of named processes in chemical technology

660.28403 1/1999

Encyclopedia of life sciences

Available Online

 

Return to top of page


Library catalogue

More help?

Known item searching

Keyword searching

AND/OR/NOT Boolean searching

Subject-heading searching

Where is the resource located?

Is the resource available?

The CQU Library Catalogue is the database of all items (books, videos, audiocassettes, print journals and online fulltext journals, etc) held by the CQU library.

Some sample keyword and subject headings are included below to get you started.

example Chemistry keywords

chemistry

handbook

organic

laboratory

 

example Chemistry subject headings

Chemistry

Chemistry, Analytic

Laboratories -- Safety measures.

Chemistry -- Experiments.


Return to top of page


Databases for finding journal articles

More help?

About journals

What are refereed journals

About databases

Passwords

For a list of databases relevant to the Biomedical Science discipline, check out:
Databases & Resources by Subject: Chemistry

 

 


Return to top of page


Information on the World Wide Web

More help?

Successful web searching

Searching for information on the World Wide Web can be a huge task. Here are some websites you may like to begin with.

General Chemistry - related web sites

Yahoo Chemistry Directory

Yahoos directory listing for Chemistry subjects

WWW Virtual Library - Chemistry

An index of chemistry resources on the web provided by The University of Liverpool.

ChemWeb.com

ChemWeb.com is a unique resource which combines a huge range of information for those in research chemistry, the chemicals industries and related disciplines.

WebElements Periodic Table

WebElements™ periodic table Scholar edition.

The Wired Chemist

A collection of chemistry resources.

Yahoo list of sites with Materials Safety Data Sheets

Yahoos directory listing for materials safety data sheets.

American Chemical Society ChemCenter

The website of the American Chemical Society.

Environment Australia Online

The Australian Government Department of the Environment and Heritage (DEH) develops and implements national policy, programs and legislation to protect and conserve Australia's natural environment and cultural heritage.

CSIRO

CSIRO is Australia's Commonwealth Scientific and Industrial Research Organisation.

General Chemistry Online

General Chemistry Online provided by Dept. of Chemistry Frostburg State University.

Scirus

Scirus is a comprehensive science-focused search engine available on the Internet.

Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI)

Website of the Royal Australian Chemical Institute (RACI).


Return to top of page


Other resources you might like to try


Return to top of page


Wrapping up

More help?

Evaluating your resources

CQU's referencing website

What is plagiarism?

It is now time to evaluate use and reference the information you have located.

At university level it is important to rely on information that meets the standards expected by your lecturers. In many cases your arguments should be supported by what are termed scholarly or "peer-reviewed" publications.

When citing other peoples work in your assignments, it is vital that it is correctly referenced
 

 

 

 


Return to top of page

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

Liaison Librarian - Chemistry and Biomedical Sciences