Library Guides

@CQU Library

EDED11400 Managing Diversity
Library Assessment Guide

This Guide is designed to help you find information relevant to completing Assessment Items 1 and 2.  In particular, the Guide is designed to assist you with:

 

PLANNING THE SEARCH FOR INFORMATION

When planning, it is important to:

- gain an understanding of the requirements of the task, that is, analyse and explore the topic

- locate some background information, definitions or explanations of words and concepts if necessary (Education-related dictionaries and encyclopedias can be useful in finding this type of information.)

- develop keywords to use when you are searching the Library Catalogue, online databases and the Web.

MORE HELP WITH PLANNING THE SEARCH FOR INFORMATION?

What is my assignment really about?

How do I find Education-related dictionaries and encyclopedias?

What are keywords and how do I develop them?

 

Sample Keywords - Assessment Item 1 (Part B)

TOPIC WORDS

societal attitudes/
perceptions

diversity

current

debates

SYNONYMS

societal/society's awareness/
approach/outlook/

position...

difference;
differences

existing;recent;
present;
contemporary...

discussion;
argument...

RELATED CONCEPTS

positive/negative

attitudes/perceptions; acceptance; tolerance; prejudice; intolerance; stereotypes; bias; discrimination;  racism...

behavioural/
gender/ethnic/
racial/cultural/
socio-economic/
religious/
intellectual differences...

-

issues;
thinking...

 

Sample Keywords - Assessment Item 1 (Part C)

TOPIC WORDS

strategies

positive/negative
attitudes/perceptions

diversity

learning site

SYNONYMS

tactics;
approaches;
methods...

positive/negative approaches/outlook/
position...

see table above

-

RELATED CONCEPTS

plans; policies; schemes ...

tolerance; acceptance; prejudice; intolerance; stereotypes; bias; discrimination;  racism...

see table above

classroom;school;
secondary/primary school; TAFE; college; middle school; senior school; training site; workplace/
workforce...

 

Sample Keywords - Assessment Item 2 (Part A, B)

TOPIC WORDS

characteristics

diverse learners

learning needs

SYNONYMS

features; qualities...

 

learning requirements/
demands; educational requirements/needs;
learning strategies;
instructional needs...

RELATED CONCEPTS

-

ADD/ADHD;
behavioural difficulties;
culturally diverse;
gender issues; gifted and talented; intellectually impaired; physically impaired; adult learners; autistic spectrum disorder...

teaching strategies/ methods/ instruction; education; curriculum; assessment; differentiated learning/ curriculum/ instruction; catering for individual differences; inclusive education...


Top of page icon

FINDING THE INFORMATION REQUIRED

Increase your chances of finding relevant information by:

-  devising and using a variety of keywords

-  using search strategies such as phrase searching (e.g."senior school"); Boolean operators (e.g. "learning difficulties" NOT "physical disability"; autism AND education; "elementary school" OR "primary school"); applying limits (e.g. date of publication); truncation (e.g. learner*; mature age*)

Note:  You will need to check if the source you are searching supports particular search strategies. You can do this by referring to Help screens contained within the  information source.

Information sources which may prove useful in locating information for Assessment Items 1 and 2 include:

-  the Library Catalogue which provides access to books and other resources about managing diversity.  Use keywords, search strategies (e.g. "gifted students" AND curriculum) and subject headings to find relevant information (subject headings such as: special education, remedial teaching, autistic children - education...) 

Education-related databases which provide access to a  range of resources including journal articles.  Most of the information found in the Library's databases cannot be located on the Web. Use keywords and search strategies to find relevant information (e.g. "ADHD students" AND "instructional strategies").  Some databases that might provide useful information for your assessment items include A+Education, Proquest, Eric Index and Expanded Academic ASAP.  Other databases are available through the Library website.  

Databases can also assist you with finding scholarly information.  This type of information provides background and research related to Education issues, including managing diversity. Database will provide access to scholarly resources such as peer-reviewed or refereed journals.  Databases can also be used to check if a particular journal has been peer-reviewed or refereed.

-  the Web using search engines such as Google (Select the Advanced Search option and limit to .edu in the domain search box) and Google Scholar (Not all articles are freely available and some links provide citation information only.).  Experiment with some meta search engines such as Clusty (Try "intellectually impaired" and "teaching strategies")  Note that the Education Queensland website contains links to very relevant information.

MORE HELP WITH FINDING THE INFORMATION REQUIRED?

What are keywords?

What is a search strategy?

How do I find books via the Library Catalogue?

What is a subject heading?

How do I search using subject headings?

How do I find databases?

How do I find journal articles?

How do I find Education-related websites?

How do I find scholarly information?

Top of page icon

EVALUATING THE INFORMATION FOUND

While information that meets recognised standards of scholarship is important throughout university level education, it is the requirements of your set assessment items that determine the kind of information you need. 

 

In completing Assessment Items 1 and 2, you may find appropriate information from a variety of resources including books, journal articles and the publications of professional bodies. 

 

Remember that whatever the information resource you are using, you will need to evaluate its relevance and suitability. 

MORE HELP WITH EVALUATING THE INFORMATION FOUND?

How do I evaluate information sources?

How do I evaluate websites?

Top of page icon

FINDING ADDITIONAL ASSISTANCE

The Library's tutorial, Compass: Library Help Online, is a portal to information about a range issues connected to assignment preparation.

Staff in the Library's Enquiry Centre are trained to answer many of the questions you may have relating to Library issues such as finding and borrowing resources.

The Liaison Librarian - Education can provide assistance with specific Education-related Library queries.

Researching and writing your EDED11400 assessment items will require you to draw on your own observations as well as the ideas and works of others.  Is is essential that you acknowledge others' contributions by referencing any material that you have used.  CQU's Referencing website provides comprehensive information about this important topic.

The Library provides a range of services for off-campus students.  If you are an off-campus student you may find some of these services useful when you are undertaking assessment task research.

Staff at the Communications Learning Centre (CLC) will provide students with assistance in developing and improving their academic writing and oral communication skills.

MORE HELP WITH FINDING ASSISTANCE?

How do I find Compass: Library Help Online

How do I contact the Enquiry Centre?

How do I contact the Liaison Librarian-Education?

What do I need to know about referencing?

What services does the Library provide for off-campus students?

How do I contact the CLC?

Top of page icon

 

 

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

Liaison Librarian - Education