Library Guides

@CQU Library

Graduate Diploma of Learning and Teaching

  Library Resource Guide

As a student, you will be required to draw information from many sources.  Knowing that these sources exist, and then using them effectively are knowledge and skills that you will need to acquire and build on during your studies.  This Guide is designed to assist you in this process.

There are many Education-related information sources which can assist you in focusing your search for information regarding course content, assessment and tutorial tasks, and classroom use and planning.

Some information sources which will prove useful to you while you are studying and perhaps later in your role as a learning manager include:

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of Education-related topic areas by providing you with background information, and definitions or explanations of words or concepts.

 

The Library provides access to both print and online dictionaries and encyclopedias and other types of reference material.

More Information?

Sample Education-related dictionaries and encyclopedias

Top of page icon

Books continue to be an important source of information. They can provide you with specific information on a particular topic (e.g. educational psychology) as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to Education.

 

Identifying appropriate keywords (search terms) and using search strategies will make your search for relevant books much easier.

 

Books can be located in print and electronic format via the Library website and in electronic format on the Web and in databases.

   

More Information?

What are keywords and search strategies?

How do I find books in the Library Catalogue?

How do I find e-books?

Top of page icon

Journal articles related to current research in areas of specialisation in the field of Education are important sources of information.

 

Understanding what journal articles are and how to find them will assist you with finding current, specific and scholarly information.

 

Most of your access to the journal literature will be online through subject-specific databases although the Library does also hold a number of print journals as well.   A list of those databases appropriate to Education can be found via the Library's SearchSMART webpage. 

 

 

 

 

 

 

More Information?

What are journals?

What are databases?

How can I find journal articles?

How can I find full-text of a journal article?

Top of page icon

Websites can provide useful information, however, searching the Web effectively, and being able to evaluate the information you have to found to determine its suitability, are skills that need to be developed.

 

A list of Education-related websites is available on the Library's website. This is by no means an exhaustive list but is does provide access to some potentially useful information.

 

 

 

 

More Information?

How do I find good websites?

How do I evaluate websites?

Sample Education and Vocational Education- related websites

Top of page icon

Course Resources Online (CROs) is a collection of digitized copyright journal articles and/or book chapters where there are insufficient hard copy/ print versions available to meet the anticipated demand by on-campus or external students.

 

These resources have been selected to complement courses offered at CQU and have been made available in consultation with the relevant academic staff.

 

More Information?

How do I find CROs?

Top of page icon

Syllabuses and their supporting materials are important documents for all potential and existing learning managers to access, as these documents provide guidance regarding the teaching of school subjects in both primary and secondary schools. 

 

More Information?

How do I find Syllabuses?

Top of page icon

Statistics may provide useful information for your assessment tasks, tutorial activities and classroom teaching. 

 

Statistical data relating to both Australian and overseas contexts is available though the Library's website.

 

More Information?

How do I find Education-related statistics?

Top of page icon

Curriculum Materials (CM) Collection is a special collection of resources held at each CQU campus library. These resources can be used in the preparation of classroom lessons and units of work, or during lesson time. Students  receive additional borrowing rights regarding this collection for the duration of their Portal Task Experience.

 

More Information?

How do I find CM Collection  resources?

Top of page icon

Databases can assist you with finding scholarly information. This type of information will need to be located during your studies to provide background and research related to  Education issues. Databases  provide access to scholarly resources including peer reviewed and  refereed journals. You can also use databases to check if a particular journal has been refereed.

 

More Information?

What are databases?

How do I find scholarly information?

Top of page icon

Additional Library information sources which can support you in your study include the following:

- Compass: Library Help Online (a portal to various kinds of information including how to analyse an assignment topic, how to evaluate information, how to reference correctly...)

Enquiry Centre

- Liaison Librarians

- Information for Off-Campus Students

   

Top of page icon

 

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

Liaison Librarian - Education