Finding Curriculum Resources
Re: Health and Physical Education
This Guide is designed to help you locate
Health and Physical Education resources that can be used in the classroom
as well as in the preparation of classroom lessons and units of work.
Please advise the Education Liaison Librarian at fll-education@cqu.edu.au of
any other print or online Health and Physical Education curriculum resources
that have been found to be particularly useful so that they can be added to
the Guide and/or the CQU Library Collection.
Health and Physical Education curriculum
resources can be located within the CQU Library, and on the Web, and this
Guide provides instruction on how to access a sample of these resources via
the following locations:
|
Queensland Studies Authority (QSA)
|
-
Go to Queensland Studies Authority.
-
Select P-12 syllabuses & support tab, go to Yrs 1-10 tab.
-
Select Health & Physical Education link and download relevant documents.
-
For Years 11-12 syllabuses and support materials for Authority Subjects,
select P-12 syllabuses & support tab, go to Yrs 11-12
tab.
- Select required subject (Health and Physical Education) and
check links for Health Education and Physical
Education under Authority Subjects.
|
|
Curriculum Exchange
|
-
Go to Education Queensland.
-
Select For schools and educators.
-
Select Curriculum Exchange from left menu
-
Select
Curriculum Exchange resource centre from left menu.
-
To log in, use the individual username and password that has been
assigned to you by the Learning Place Local Administrator (LPLA) at
the campus through which you are enrolled.
-
Choose to use either the Search or Browse facility.
For assistance with searching or browsing the Curriculum
Exchange, select TIP: Using the CX resource centre link
from left menu.
|
|
Curriculum Materials (CM) Collection at CQU
Library
|
|
The Curriculum Materials (CM) Collection is a special Library collection which
provides teaching resource support for Education students. Resources
in this collection include syllabuses, blackline masters, kits, games,
posters, fiction, school texts and workbooks, 'big books',
and audio-visual material.
-
Go to the Library
Catalogue.
-
Select Search by Collection: Curriculum Materials
(CM) and type keywords into the search box(es). You will
need to experiment with search terms (e.g. fitness, physical
education, games, p e) and search fields (e.g. title, subject
heading, anywhere). A
sample search is provided below:
|
|
University Websites (sample only)
|
|
James Cook University
|
- Go to James Cook University.
- Select Faculties & Divisions.
- Select Education under the heading Faculty of Arts, Education and Social Sciences.
- Select Information for Students from left menu.
- Select Links for Students from left menu.
- Select Library and Internet Resources for Education from main menu.
- Select Teaching Resources.
- Select Health & Physical Education → investigate website links (Database and Electronic
Journals links will not be relevant to CQU students.)
|
|
Charles Sturt University
|
-
Go to Charles Sturt University.
-
Type education lesson plans into the search box
→
investigate links provided
→ some will contain links to Health and Physical Education resources
|
|
University of Wollongong Library
|
-
Go to University of Wollongong Library.
-
Select Resources by topic.
-
Select Education from alphabetical listing.
-
Select Teaching resources and support under Resources for Education
heading
-
Go to Lesson Plans heading and investigate links
|
|
State Government Websites (sample only)
|
|
Western Australia Department of Education and Training
|
|
|
|
New South Wales Department of Education and Training
|
-
Go to NSW Department of Education and
Training.
-
Select Public Schools tab.
-
Select Learning and Teaching link on left menu
.
-
Select Curriculum K-12 from right menu
.
-
Go to Kindergarten to Year 6 Curriculum Services or
Years 7-12 to activate drop-down box and select PDHPE
→
investigate relevant links from left menu.
|
|
Additional Websites(sample only)
|
|
Soople
|
-
Go to Soople.
-
On Soople homepage, go to Filter search for file type
and
type in relevant keyword (e.g. soccer rules).
-
Select Powerpoint
→
results will reveal only Powerpoint presentations .
-
On Soople homepage, go to Search video
→
type in keyword (e.g. skipping)
→
results will reveal videos clips.
Note: Other searches from the Soople homepage may also
prove useful in finding resources to use in Health and Physical
Education lessons.
|
|
Education Network Australia (EdNA)
|
-
Go to EdNA.
-
Select School Education from right menu.
-
Select Key learning areas from right menu and scroll down and select Health & Physical Education
→
investigate links provided.
-
Go back to EdNA homepage.
-
Select School Education from right menu.
-
Select Theme pages from right
menu and scroll down and select Health and fitness
→
investigate links provided.
|
The following websites may also prove useful when searching for Health
and Physical Education resources for use in the classroom.
Education World
TeacherNet
Learning Objects: Collections
Australian Institute of Sport