Library Guides

@CQU Library

Literacy and Language (LOTE)

This Guide is designed to assist you in locating information for LOTE courses. Where appropriate you will be directed to other Library resources that may also assist you with your studies.

 

 

LOTE subject guide

Starting your research

Syllabuses

Where do I start?

Library Catalogue

Statistics

Course Resources Online (CROs)

Databases for finding journal articles

Information on the World Wide Web

Referencing

Curriculum Materials Collection

Evaluating what you have found

Faculty of Arts, Humanities & Education

 

Starting your research

When starting your research, it is a good idea to begin by gaining an understanding of the topic area by locating some background information, definitions or explanations of words and concepts.

 

Resources such as dictionaries, thesauri and encyclopedias commonly provide such information. Print publications can be found in the Reference Collection at your campus library. For online dictionaries, thesauri and encyclopedias, please see our Web Reference Sources.

 

Below is a list of useful dictionaries, thesauri and encyclopedias for clarifying definitions and providing introductory information for education.

 

For information on how to locate print dictionaries, thesauri and encyclopedias, please refer to the Library Catalogue section.

More Help?

What is the assignment really asking?

How do I explore the assignment topic further?

How do I start my own search?

 

Useful education dictionaries and encyclopedias

Print resources (check the Library Catalogue for location details)

The Cassell Dictionary of Appropriate Adjectives

423.1 38

Cassell Dictionary of Literary and Language Terms

803 16

Children's Illustrated Dictionary

423.1 48

The Concise Oxford Dictionary of Proverbs

398.92103 1

Dictionary of Jargon

427 10

International Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary

423.1 33/1997

Literacy Dictionary: The Vocabulary of Reading and Writing

372.403 1

Macmillan Visual Dictionary

423.1 26

Macquarie Aboriginal Words: A Dictionary of Words from Australian Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander Languages

499.15 27

Macquarie Concise Dictionary

423 2/1998

Metaphors Dictionary

423.1 34

Oxford English Dictionary

423 20/1989 (20 vols)

Signs of Australia: A New Dictionary of AUSLAN

419.0321 1/1998

Concise English-Chinese, Chinese-English Dictionary

495.1321 2

Dictionary of Multicultural Education

370.11703 1

Romanized English-Japanese, Japanese-English Dictionary

495.6321 9

Cambridge Encyclopaedia of Language

403 3/1997

Concise Encyclopedia of Educational Linguistics

306.4403 1

Encyclopedia of Bilingualism and Bilingual Education

370.1175 5

International Encyclopedia of Curriculum

375.0003 1

International Encyclopedia of Education

370.3 6/1994

Online resources

Cambridge Dictionaries

 

Oxford English Dictionary

Access via the library Dictionaries and Thesauri page

Merriam-Webster Online - The Language Centre

 

Your Dictionary.com - The Global Language Resource

 

Oxford Reference Online

Access via the library Encyclopedias page

Webopedia

 

 

Top of page icon

Library Catalogue

The Catalogue is the gateway to the Library's collection, whether you are searching for a book, a video or a variety of other resources.

Once you have an understanding of the concepts in your assignment you can search for items in the collection about that topic.

There are two ways of doing this - by keyword or by subject heading.

A
keyword search enables you to combine different concepts and different ways of expressing the same idea.  For example:

More Help?

How do I find books?

 

Keywords  

education AND "japanese language"

japan OR nihongo

"japanese language" AND curriculum

australia AND "multicultural education"

"foreign language" AND education 

teaching AND languages

 

Another way of searching for books and other materials is to do a subject heading search.  The idea of subject headings is that every item on the same subject should be classified under the same heading, regardless of the words that appear in the title etc.  Using them can be a very effective way of finding relevant items.

To do a subject heading search select "subject heading" from the drop down box in an Author/Title search.

 

 

Subject headings for LOTE

Japanese language -- Study and teaching English language -- Study and teaching (Primary) -- Foreign students
Languages, modern -- Study and teaching -- Queensland -- Congresses Education, bilingual -- Study and teaching -- Immersion method
Multicultural education Language policy -- Australia -- Bibliography

 

Top of page icon

Databases for finding journal articles

Be aware that journals and magazines are also called 'serials' and 'periodicals' in the CQU Library, and that 'S' in front of a call number indicates a serial.

Electronic journal databases are used to find journal articles. Journal articles are a good source of current information and enable you to keep up to date with trends and developments in your area of study.

Looking through individual journals in the hope of finding relevant material is time-consuming. It is better to use the databases to find articles on your topic.

Access to all Library databases is via  SearchSMART or the Databases webpages. To find Education databases, you will need to select Education from within the Select Your Subject drop-down box on these webpages. If you know the name of the specific database you wish to search, you can locate it by selecting the appropriate letter from the alphabetical listing on either webpage.  Another way of locating a specific database is to search for it under the Database Quicklinks drop-down box on the SearchSMART webpage or under Quick Links on the Databases webpage.

When the entire article (full-text) is not provided by a database, select the Article Linker icon which will provide information about where the full text of the article might be located.

If a journal article is available in print at the Rockhampton campus and is not available electronically, distance students can request to have a copy of the article sent to them.

 

More Help?

How do I find journal articles?

Passwords

Top of page icon

Statistics

For online statistics relating to the education, please go to CQU Library's Education Statistics page, which provides links to statistical data from both Australia and overseas..

More Help?

Finding statistical information

 

Top of page icon

Information on the World Wide Web

A list of useful websites is available on the Finding Education and Vocational Education Websites page.

The websites listed below are related to LOTE:

More Help?

Finding good websites

 

LOTE-related web sites

American Council on the Teaching of Foreign Languages

Internet Resources for Language Teachers and Learners

Resources for Foreign Language Teachers

Australian Federation of Modern Language Teachers Association



Top of page icon

Evaluating what you have found

At university level it is important to rely on information that meets the standards expected by your lecturers.  In many cases your arguments should be supported by what are termed scholarly or "peer-reviewed" publications.  Some databases - Proquest for example - make it clear which articles are scholarly and which ones fall into other categories.  There are also databases, such as ERIC, which only contain scholarly articles.

While information that meets recognised standards of scholarship is important throughout university level education, it is the requirements of your particular assignment that determine the kind of information you need.  Sometimes you may need to access the publications of professional bodies or use newspaper articles to support your arguments. 

 

Remember that whatever the information source you are using you need to evaluate its relevance and suitability.  The links to the right provide a guide to how to go about evaluating different kinds of resources.

More Help?

Have you considered the quality of your information?

 

Top of page icon

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

Faculty Liaison Librarian - Education