Library Guides

@CQU Library

Finding Reference Sources

Reference Sources contain information such as facts, statistics and background information and this information can be generic or subject-specific.

Reference sources are designed for brief consultation rather than being read from cover to cover and they are available in print or online formats.


Common reference sources include: dictionaries, thesauri, encyclopedias, directories and handbooks. 

The Library's Web References Sources webpage include a large range of online generic and subject-specific reference material.

 

Of particular assistance to Education students are the following dictionaries and encyclopedias which can be accessed through the Library. 

 

Useful dictionaries and encyclopedias for Education students

 

Print Education-related Reference Resources (Check the Library Catalogue for location details)

 

Dictionary of Education

370.3 8/1996

Dictionary of Multicultural Education

370.11703 1

International Dictionary of Adult and Continuing Education

374.003 1/2002

International Acronyms, Initialisms & Abbreviations Dictionary

423.1 33/1997

The Penguin Macquarie Dictionary of Australian Education

370.994 64

Encyclopedia of Education

370.321 3/2003

Education and Sociology: An Encyclopedia

306.43 32

World Education Encyclopedia: A Survey of Educational Systems Worldwide

370.9 35/2001

Encyclopedia of Special Education

371.903 1/2000

Encyclopedia of Educational Evaluation

379.150321 1

Encyclopedia of Science & Technology

503 22

Gale Encyclopedia of Childhood & Adolescence

305.23103 1

International Encyclopedia of Curriculum

375.0003 1

International Encyclopedia of the Sociology of Education

306.4303 1

International Encyclopedia of Adult Education and Training

347.13 2/1996

 

Online Reference Resources

 

Oxford English Dictionary

Select the SearchSMART link on the Library

homepage ® Web Reference Sources link from the left menu ®

Dictionaries and Thesauri link and scroll to find the resource.

Oxford Reference Online

See above.

 

 

 

 

 

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

Liaison Librarian - Education