Finding Scholarly Information
Interpretations of what
constitutes scholarly information vary. Scholarly information is generally defined as
information written by academics in a particular field of study for a mostly
academic audience and is published/edited by a university or scholarly
society. Some
scholarly publications, although not all, are
peer-reviewed (refereed)
and it is these publications that are held in high esteem in academic
circles.
Peer-reviewed journals contain
articles which have been reviewed, edited and approved by
recognised experts. Since the authors' peers have examined the
originality and significance of the articles and advised the editor(s) to
publish, peer-reviewed journals are considered to be
academically credible and an excellent source of information for your
university study.
Using appropriate journal
databases can increase your access to peer-reviewed resources. The
following are examples of databases which contain some of the scholarly Education literature:
While not all journals in these
databases will be peer-reviewed, many of the peer-reviewed, highly cited,
highly regarded journals in the social sciences are included in these
databases
Other databases also contain scholarly,
including peer-reviewed Education-related publications. A list of
Education-related databases can be found via the Library's SearchSMART page.

There are several ways to check whether a
journal is peer-reviewed:
-
Print copies of journals will usually state that the journal is
refereed/peer-reviewed (e.g. under journal details, or information
for contributors)
-
The Ulrichsweb database will state if a journal is
refereed (Urichsweb uses the term refereed rather than peer-reviewed).
To check if a journal is refereed:
1. Select
Ulrichsweb
2. Perform a 'Title (Exact)' search (entering the exact journal title)
3. Select the relevant journal title on the results page
(sometimes there may be more than one journal with the same title).
If the journal is refereed (peer-reviewed), this will be stated in the basic
description.
-
Some databases (e.g.
Infotrac) allow you to limit your search to peer-reviewed
articles.
-
Some of the full-text databases (e.g.
Synergy) contain only peer-reviewed publications.
In these databases there are
usually links to individual journal homepages, where you can
examine the information provided to ascertain if the journal is
peer-reviewed.
Note: Not all items in a peer-reviewed journal will be
peer-reviewed (e.g. editorial, letters, some reviews, announcements etc).
For more information about the reviewing process, see the
UMSL Libraries'
Peer Review Subject Guide.