Finding Curriculum Resources
Re: Secondary Teaching
This Guide is designed to help you locate
resources that can be used in the secondary school classroom
as well as in the preparation of classroom lessons and units of work.
Please advise the Education Liaison Librarian at fll-education@cqu.edu.au of
any other print or online secondary school curriculum resources
that have been found to be particularly useful so that they can be added to
the Guide and/or the CQU Library Collection.
Secondary school curriculum
resources can be located within the CQU Library and on the Web, and this
Guide provides instruction on how to access a sample of these resources via
the following locations:
|
Queensland Studies Authority (QSA)
|
|
For Years 1-10 syllabuses and support materials:
Select P-12 Syllabuses & Support
- Go to Yrs 1-10
tab.
- Select required KLA (e.g. Mathematics).
- Investigate Mathematics the support materials
links.
For Years 11-12 syllabuses and support materials for Authority Subjects:
- Go to Yrs 11-12 tab.
- Select Subject areas.
- Select required subject (e.g. English) and check
links within the text and on the left menu.
For Years 11-12 guides, study plans and support materials for
Authority-registered subjects (e.g. Functional Maths):
- Go to Yrs 11 & 12 tab.
- Select Subject areas.
- Select required subject (e.g. Mathematics)
- Select the required Authority-registered subject and check
links within the page.
|
|
Curriculum Exchange
|
-
Go to Education Queensland.
-
Select For schools and educators.
-
Select Curriculum Exchange (from left menu).
-
Select
Curriculum Exchange resource centre from left menu .
-
To log in, use the individual username and password that has been
assigned to you by the Learning Place Local Administrator (LPLA) at
the campus through which you are enrolled. If LPLA is not known,
contact
fll-education@cqu.edu.au for details.
-
Choose to use either the Search or Browse facility.
For assistance with searching or browsing the Curriculum
Exchange, select TIP: Using the CX resource centre from left menu.
|
|
Curriculum Materials (CM) Collection at CQU
Library
|
|
The Curriculum Materials (CM) Collection is a special
CQU Library collection which
provides teaching resource support for Education students. Resources
in this collection include syllabuses, blackline masters, kits, games,
poster, fiction, school texts and workbooks, 'big books',
and audio-visual material.
-
Go to the Library
Catalogue.
-
Select Search by Collection: Curriculum Materials
(CM) and type keywords into the search box(es). You may
need to experiment with search terms (e.g. physcial education, SOSE,
shakespeare, numeracy) and search fields (e.g. title, subject
heading, anywhere). A
sample search is provided below:
|
|
University Websites (sample only)
|
|
James Cook University
|
- Go to James Cook University.
- Select Faculties & Divisions.
- Select Education under the heading Faculty of Arts, Education and Social Sciences.
- Select Information for Students from left menu.
- Select Links for Students from left menu.
- Select Library and Internet Resources for Education from main menu.
- Select Teaching Resources.
- Select relevant curriculum area and investigate website links. (Note:
database and electronic
journals links will not be relevant to CQU students.)
|
|
Charles Sturt University
|
-
Go to Charles Sturt University.
-
Type education lesson plans into the search box
provided → investigate relevant KLA links
|
|
University of Wollongong Library
|
-
Go to University of Wollongong Library.
-
Select Resources by topic.
-
Select Education from alphabetical listing.
-
Select Teaching resources and support under Resources for Education
heading.
-
Go to Lesson Plans heading and investigate links
.
|
|
State Government Websites (sample only)
|
|
Western Australia Department of Education and Training
|
|
|
|
New South Wales Department of Education and Training
|
-
Go to NSW Department of Education and
Training.
-
Select Public Schools tab.
-
Select Learning and Teaching link on left menu
.
-
Select Curriculum K-12 from right menu.
-
Go to Kindergarten to Year 6 Curriculum Services or
Years 7-12 to activate drop-down box and select PDHPE
→
investigate relevant links from left menu.
|
|
Additional Websites (sample only)
|
|
Soople
|
-
Go to Soople.
-
On Soople homepage, go to Filter search for file type
and
type in relevant keyword (e.g. Buddhism).
-
Select Powerpoint
→
results will reveal only Powerpoint presentations re the keyword
used.
-
On Soople homepage, go to Search video
→
type in keyword (e.g. volcanoes)
→
results will reveal videos clips.
-
On Soople homepage, go to Search the full text of books →
type in keyword (e.g. great expectations) → results will reveal
book extracts.
Note: Other searches from the Soople homepage may also
prove useful in finding resources to use in specific KLAs.
|
|
Education Network Australia (EdNA)
|
-
Go to EdNA.
-
Select School Education from right menu.
-
Select Key learning areas from right menu and scroll down
and
investigate links provided.
-
Go back to EdNA homepage.
-
Select School Education from right menu.
-
Select Theme pages from right
menu and scroll down and
investigate links provided.
|
|
Other Sources
|
- Schools - teaching resources for staff, and students
undertaking portal task experience, may be available in the school
library, resource centre or other location within the school
- Public Libraries - a range of fiction and non fiction
resources is available at public libraries
-
School Resource Suppliers such as publishers and
booksellers provide catalogues and other information which can
assist with purchasing resources.
|