Library Guides

@CQU Library

Finding journal articles in databases

Journal article databases are available via SearchSMART. Databases are listed alphabetically by title and by subject.  

If you're not sure which database to search, use the drop-down arrow beside Select your subject and click on the relevant subject area. A list of databases relating to that area will be retrieved for you.

You may be asked for your username and password before accessing a database. This is generally your student number and e-rolment password.

After username and password details are entered, most databases go straight to the search screen. Some are set up a little differently (such as Informit and CSA) and ask you to choose the database before taking you to the search screen.

The Advanced search screen usually has better functionality so if a database opens to a Simple or Basic search, click on the Advanced search option. Once you are ready to search enter your keywords into the search boxes provided.

Example search for: "Discuss the benefits of using humour to reduce stress"

    You could search the ProQuest database with the keywords and search strategy below:


Using the database effectively

Each database operates a little differently. Use the advice provided by the database in its Search Tips or Help pages. The link to Search Tips or Help is generally located near the search boxes or in the top right hand corner of the screen.

The Search Tips or Help pages will advise shortcuts for searching variations of one word, the best way to search for phrases, combining with AND/OR.

Search results

Where the search results provide full-text links, choose the PDF option (when available) for better printing results, or when page numbers for direct quotes are required.

The HTML option can be used for ease of reading online and for the links provided within.

When there are no direct full-text links on the database, click on the ArticleLinker icon  ArticleLinker icon.  ArticleLinker finds the full-text source or advises if the Library does not hold a copy.

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library