Library Guides

@CQU Library

COIS13013 Course Guide

Compass icon
This image will appear throughout this guide. When you see it, click on it to seek out more information on that particular topic or concept.

This guide is to assist you in using CQU Library resources for assessment item 2.

One of the criteria of your assignment is to demonstrate that you have researched your topic thoroughly.

There is also a need to use academic journals.


What are you really searching for?

Compass icon
What is my assignment really about?

Before you can start searching, you need to work out exactly what it is you are searching for.

Rather then opening a search engine and typing in random keywords, it is better to think about your keywords and how they relate to each other and the overall topic.  To do this, you should create and follow a structured search strategy.


Starting a search strategy

Compass icon
How do I start my own search?

The first step in developing a search strategy is to come up with some keywords. To do this you should identify the topic words in the topic.

If we look at option 1 in your assessment item, we can easily pull out some topics like

The assessment instructions for option 1 also mention that the topic must be managerially orientated.


Many library databases are very strict when it comes to keywords.  They will only search for the exact word you enter, i.e. if you enter DSS, it will not find "Decision Support System" if that phrase is not specifically mentioned.  If you enter manager, it won't find management.

To overcome this, the next step is to start identifying synonyms and related terms.   Begin by thinking about what you already know about the topic.  The information you draw on can be your own knowledge or can come from sources such as lecturers, readings, mass media, fellow students. 

Remember, it's not unusual for systems to be known under different terms.  For example, GSS may also appear as GDSS.

Link to WebReferences

 

Wikipedia image
Wikipedia
Open source encyclopedia.  NOT an academic source.  Use as a starting point only.

 

 

You might also want to try looking at dictionaries, thesauri and encyclopaedias available through the Library's Web Reference sources page.

A useful starting point for background information is Wikipedia.  It should be strongly pointed out that Wikipedia is NOT an academic resource.  Due to its open nature you should never implicitly trust the information on Wikipedia.  Many lecturers will deduct marks for referencing wikipedia. 

Instead, use Wikipedia as a starting point to gain some background knowledge.  If you find something you wish to use, be sure to back it up by verifying the information through academic sources.

As you identify more keywords, add them to your search strategy:

Keywords

Topic Words

Knowledge Base

"case study"

managerial

Synonyms

"knowledge management"

 

knowledgebase

 


 

management

manager

manage

Related Terms

ontology

information

"artificial intelligence"

report

 

evaluation

"business case"

business

enterprise

organisation

organization

 

Compass icon
Have you tried the CQU Library Catalogue?

As you continue with your searching, you will add or remove keywords as your knowledge of the area grows.  By combining your keywords, you can create a more efficient search, as shown below.


Example: Proquest


Refining your search strategy

Compass icon
Do you have too much/too little information?

 

Compass icon
How do I find books?

Some of the problems that can occur when searching for information, include:

You can improve your chances of finding the most relevant information by using the following tools.

Below is an example of an advanced search using all of the above tools.  Notice the date limit has been set to only return records from the last 2 years:

Example: Proquest


Using Library Databases to access Journals

Compass icon
How do I find journal articles?

 

Finding journal articles in databases

Option 1 of your assessment item requires you to use academic journals.

It is important to note that there are many different types of journals, and not all of them are academic.

CQU Library has a large collection of journals.  Many of them are available through our online databases and can be accessed from your home computer.

Start by going to SearchSmart.  The section you want is labelled Select a database to search for articles.  The image below highlights the different elements:

There are a number of databases which will be of use to you for this assessment.  You may wish to start with the following:

It is very important that you access Library Databases by using the above steps, even for Google Scholar.  If you do not, then you may be unable to fully access the parts of the database that the Library has paid access to.

You will also not have access to Article Linker.  Article Linker is a tool which attempts to find the full text of an article when it is not available in the database you are searching.  Google Scholar supports Article Linker, but only if it has been accessed by following the above steps.

A guide for Article Linker is available.

 


The importance of Evaluation

Compass icon
How will I know if the information I have found is any good?

 

Compass icon
Have you considered the quality of your information?

When writing at a university level it is important to rely on information that meets the standards expected by your lecturers.

Remember that whatever the information source you are using you need to evaluate its relevance and suitability, and reference accordingly.

Many of the library databases contain peer reviewed articles.  However, some databases, (e.g. ProQuest), contain articles that fall into other categories.  Often the database search screen will allow you to limit the types of articles returned.

Top of page

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

Informatics and Communications Librarian