Library Guides

@CQU Library

COIS20024 - Systems Management Overview Assignment 1

One of the objectives listed for your first assignment is to:

Demonstrate ability to research and use credible references to aid the decision-making process and the presentation of the argument.

This guide is intended to introduce you to some starting points for completing this objective.  It covers:


Understanding the concepts in your assignment

More help?

A list of available online reference sources

To effectively search for information for your assignment you first need to identify the major keywords or key concepts. 

Begin by studying the case study, the assignment instructions and any readings which have been set by your lecturer.

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic area by locating background information, definitions or explanations of the keywords and concepts. 

While creating your list of keywords, you will also need to think of other words or phrases that refer to the same concepts.  Adding these synonyms and related words to your list of keywords will help make your searching more effective.

Below is a sampling of useful reference sources for this course.  Additionally, the Library Catalogue can be searched for further resources using 'dictionary' or 'encyclopedia' as a keyword.  Information on the use of the Library Catalogue can be found in the next section.

dictionaries & encyclopedias

Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of management information systems

658.4038011 56

Blackwell encyclopedic dictionary of strategic management

658.401203 2

Dictionary of computing [electronic resource]

004.03 (ELECTRONIC BOOK)

Dictionary of computer and Internet terms

004.03 18/1998

Dictionary of computer and internet words : [an A to Z guide to hardware, software, and cyberspace]

004.03 19

Dictionary of computer science, engineering, and technology

004.03 20

Encyclopedia of computer science

004 33/2000

Oxford Reference Online  Access via Databases

A collection of over 100 reference works, including a Dictionary of Computing and a business dictionaries.

 

Return to top of page


Searching the Library Catalogue

More help?

Known item searching

Keyword searching

Subject-heading searching

Phrase searching

AND/OR/NOT Boolean searching

Where is the resource located?

Is the resource available?

The Library Catalogue is a database of all items (books, videos, audiocassettes, print journals and online fulltext journals, etc) held by CQU Library.

To search the Library Catalogue, you first need to have compiled a list of potential keywords, phrases and synonyms as indicated in the previous section.

This list is not static.  As you research, you will add and remove from keywords as you discover and read resources.

You can also search the catalogue using Subject Headings.  Refer to More help? for more information.

Below are some example keywords and subject headings to get you started.

Some of these examples may not be useful until combined with other keywords using Boolean operators,  eg, IS OR "information systems" AND ethic*.  Consult the links under More help? for further assistance.

example keywords

IS OR "information systems"

"information systems" AND [type]

"business process*"

"competitive advantage"

ethic* OR moral* OR "social responsibility"

organization* OR organisation*

employee OR staff

implication

IT OR "information technology"

advantages/disadvantages OR pros/cons

implement*

technolog*

 

example subject headings

Social responsibility of business

Business ethics

Information resources management -- Handbooks, manuals, etc

Information technology -- Moral and ethical aspects

Technology -- Moral and ethical aspects

Responsibility


 

Top of page


Searching journal databases

More help?

About journals

About databases

What are peer-reviewed journals

One of the requirements of your assignment is that you have at least ten credible academic reference sources.

Peer reviewed journals usually focus on a very specific area of interest or research.  They can often provide more in-depth information than books.  They also offer the latest published research in a particular field.

CQU Library offers a large number of journals online through journal databases. The journal databases can be accessed through SearchSmart.

For a list of databases relevant to IS/IT studies, refer to:
Databases & Resources by Subject: Information Systems and Information Technology

Some specific databases which you may find useful are:

ACM Digital Library

Proquest

EbscoHost

ScienceDirect

Springer Journals Online

Infotrac

 

Top of page


Referencing and plagiarism

More help?

CQU's referencing website

What is plagiarism?

When undertaking academic research, you will draw on the ideas and works of other people.  At CQU you must acknowledge the contributions of those people by referencing the work you have used. 

Failing to acknowledge your sources is a form of plagiarism. 

For more information on CQU's policy on plagiarism and referencing, refer to the links under More help?

Top of page



Comments to::

Informatics and Communications Librarian