Library Guides

@CQU Library

Communications and Cultural Studies


This image will appear throughout this guide. When you see it, click on it to seek out more information on that particular topic or concept.

Now that you're an undergraduate student at CQU, your lecturers and tutors expect you to find and use information that meets academic and professional standards. This is a skill that develops as your knowledge and experience grows.

This guide lists different kinds of resources relevant to the study of Communication and Cultural Studies, including:


Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic area by locating background information, definitions or explanations of words and concepts:

Below is a list of useful reference sources for Communication or Cultural studies topics:

Commumication & Cultural Studies  dictionaries & encyclopedias

Oxford Reference Online  Access via Databases

A collection of over 100 reference works

Dictionary of media and communication studies

302.203 3/2000 - Gladstone Only

Dictionary of communication and media studies

302.03 2/1997

Australian writers' and editors' guide

428.003 4

Critical dictionary of film and television theory

791.4301 55

Dictionary of broadcast communications

384.54 4/1991

Encyclopedia of Aboriginal Australia: Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander history, society and culture

994.0049915 98




Books


How do I find books?
These pages will show you how to use the Library Catalogue to search for books held by the Library.


How do I start my own search?

Identifying keywords and concepts from your assignment or project topics will make your search of the Library Catalogue for books much easier.

Books are an important source of information.  Books can provide you with specific information on a particular topic as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to Communications and Cultural Studies.

Below are some sample subject headings which may prove useful for Communication and Cultural Studies. 

For further help in identifying keywords, consult the links in the boxout to the right for further assistance.




Journal Articles


How do I find journal articles?

Journals usually focus on a very specific area of interest or research. Journals can often provide more in-depth information than books. They also offer the latest published research in a particular field.

For a list of databases relevant to Communication and Cultural Studies, check out:



Websites


Successful web searching
This page contains links to different search tools.


Evaluating websites
This page discusses the importance of evaluating a website to determine if it is suitable for inclusion in an academic assignment.  It also provides links to resources which will show you how to do this.


Internet Detective
This is an online tutorial which will help you develop your internet research skills. It was created by the University of Bristol and Manchester Metropolitan University.


How do I find good websites?

Searching for resources on the World Wide Web can be a huge, but rewarding task.

Here are some websites you may like to begin with.

Useful websites

ABC home page

Home to the Australian Broadcasting Corporation

Australian Film Commission News

The Australian Film Commission (AFC) is an Australian Government agency operating under the Commonwealth Film Program (Department of Communications, Information Technology and the Arts) to ensure the creation, preservation and availability of Australian audiovisual content.

Australia Council

homepage of the Australia Council of the Arts, including links to arts organisations

Bright Lights Film Journal

looks at movie analysis, history and commentary

Continuum

an excellent journal on Australian media with a print equivalent

Film Australia

Film Australia is one of the nation's leading producers of television documentaries and educational programs

Jouvert:

a journal of post-colonial studies - a refereed multi-disciplinary journal

Short Wave Stations on the WWW

links to international media information

Virtual Institute of Information

a search and link network for telecommunications, cybercommunications, and mass media research.



Course Resources Online (CROs)


Course Resources Online

This page lists all of the courses with CROs. Click on the relevant course code to see what CROs are available for a particular course.

CROs are extra reading materials (book chapters, journal articles etc.) that your lecturer has asked to be made available online.



Evaluating information


Have you considered the quality of your information?
 

When using information for academic study you need to be more critical of the information you find.

Given the ease with which information can be published on the internet, the task of evaluation is even more important.

Top of page

Referencing and plagiarism

CQU's referencing website

What is plagiarism?

When undertaking academic research, you will draw on the ideas and works of other people.  At CQU you must acknowledge the contributions of those people by referencing the work you have used. 

Failing to acknowledge your sources is plagiarism. 

Top of page

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

Informatics and Communications Librarian