Library Guides
@CQU Library
|
|
Now that you're an undergraduate student at CQU, your lecturers and tutors expect you to find and use information that meets academic and professional standards. This is a skill that develops as your knowledge and experience grows.
This guide lists different kinds of resources relevant to the study of E-Commerce, including:
Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic area by locating background information, definitions or explanations of words and concepts:
Below is a sampling of useful reference sources for clarifying definitions and providing background information for E-Commerce.
| E-Commerce dictionaries & encyclopedias | |
|
Dictionary of Asia Pacific business terms |
|
|
Dictionary of Accounting |
Online access via Catalogue |
|
Dictionary of Business |
Online access via Catalogue |
|
Dictionary of e-business: a definitive guide technology and business terms |
|
|
Dictionary of Economics |
Online access via Catalogue |
|
Dictionary of Finance and Banking |
Online access via Catalogue |
|
E-commerce handbook: a practical guide to developing a successful e-business strategy |
|
|
E-commerce law: a handbook for business |
|
|
Internet law and business handbook |
|
|
Law of E-Commerce |
Contains comprehensive commentary on the law relating to e-commerce in Australia, including reference to cases and legislation, and forms and precedents.
Online access via Databases |
|
|
Books are an important source of information. Books can provide you with specific information on a particular topic as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to E-Commerce Studies.
The Library Catalogue is a database of all items (books, videos, audiocassettes, print journals and online fulltext journals, etc) held by CQU Library.
Below are some sample subject headings which may prove useful for E-Commerce.
For further help in identifying keywords, consult the links in the boxout to the right for further assistance.
While the Library Catalogue can be used to find journals, it can not be used to find articles within journals. Refer to the section on Journal Articles for further information.
Journals usually focus on a very specific area of interest or research. Journals can often provide more in-depth information than books. They also offer the latest published research in a particular field.
For a list of databases relevant to E-Commerce Studies, check out:
|
|
Searching for resources on the World Wide Web can be a huge, but rewarding task.
You should be aware that due to the ease of publishing information on the web, it is vital that you evaluate the types of websites you include in your academic work.
Here are some websites you may like to begin with.
|
|
CROs are extra reading materials (book chapters, journal articles etc.) that your lecturer has asked to be made available online.
When using information for academic study you need to be more critical of the information you find.
Given the ease with which information can be published on the internet, the task of evaluation is even more important.
When undertaking academic research, you will draw on the ideas and works of other people. At CQU you must acknowledge the contributions of those people by referencing the work you have used.
Failing to acknowledge your sources is plagiarism.
CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D
Comments to:
Informatics and Communications Librarian