Library Guides

@CQU Library

Information Systems/Technology Program Guide


This image will appear throughout this guide. When you see it, click on it to seek out more information on that particular topic or concept.

Now that you're an undergraduate student at CQU, your lecturers and tutors expect you to find and use information that meets academic and professional standards. This is a skill that develops as your knowledge and experience grows.

This guide lists different kinds of resources relevant to the study of IT/IS, including:


Dictionaries and Encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic area by locating background information, definitions or explanations of words and concepts:

Below is a sampling of useful reference sources for clarifying definitions and providing background information for IS & IT topics.

IS/IT dictionaries & encyclopedias

Computer Dictionary

Available Online

Dictionary of Computing

Online access via Catalogue

Dictionary of Information and Communication Technology

004.03 21/2004

Dictionary of the Internet

Online access via Catalogue

Encyclopedia of Computer Science

004 33/2000

Netlingo

Available Online

TechEncyclopedia

Available Online

 

Return to top of page


Books


How do I find books?
These pages will show you how to use the Library Catalogue to search for books held by the Library.


How do I start my own search?

Identifying keywords and concepts from your assignment or project topics will make your search of the Library Catalogue for books much easier.

Books are an important source of information.  Books can provide you with specific information on a particular topic as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to IT/IS Studies.

Below are some sample subject headings which may prove useful for IT/IS. 

For further help in identifying keywords, consult the links in the boxout to the right for further assistance.

While the Library Catalogue can be used to find journals, it can not be used to find articles within journals.  Refer to the section on Journal Articles for further information.

 


Top of page


Journal Articles


How do I find journal articles?

Journals usually focus on a very specific area of interest or research. Journals can often provide more in-depth information than books. They also offer the latest published research in a particular field.

In the fast moving world of IT & IS, journals are usually the best place to get up to date information.  Especially journals such as conference proceedings.

For a list of databases relevant to IS/IT Studies, check out:


Top of page


Websites


Successful web searching
This page contains links to different search tools.


Evaluating websites
This page discusses the importance of evaluating a website to determine if it is suitable for inclusion in an academic assignment.  It also provides links to resources which will show you how to do this.


Internet Detective
This is an online tutorial which will help you develop your internet research skills. It was created by the University of Bristol and Manchester Metropolitan University.


How do I find good websites?

Searching for resources on the World Wide Web can be a huge, but rewarding task.   IT/IS in particular are well represented on the WWW, possibly even overrepresented. 

You should be aware that due to the ease of publishing information on the web, it is vital that you evaluate the types of websites you include in your academic work.

Here are some websites you may like to begin with.

Useful IS/IT websites

AISWorld Net - Association for Information Systems

An entry point to resources related to information systems technology for information systems academics and practitioners.

Australian Communications and Media Authority

The Australian Communications and Media Authority (ACMA) is responsible for the regulation of broadcasting, radiocommunications, telecommunications and online content.

Australian Competition and Consumer Commission

(ACC) has a wide range of publications dealing with its functions and the legislation for which it is responsible.  Some are general in their scope while others are concerned with specific aspects of the law of the Commission's administration of it.  All Commission publications are listed on this site and may are available online.  Internet & e-commerce are covered by this government body.

Australian Computer Society

The Australian Computer Society (ACS) is the recognised association for Information & Communications Technology (ICT) professionals, attracting a large and active membership from all levels of the ICT industry. A member of the Australian Council of Professions, the ACS is the public voice of the ICT profession and the guardian of professional ethics and standards in the ICT industry, with a commitment to the wider community to ensure the beneficial use of ICT.

Association for Computing Machinery

ACM is a major force in advancing the skills of information technology professionals and students worldwide.  For access to the ACM Database, go to here.

Australian Government

find departments and government bodies such as the ACA and ACC which publish key documents in the areas of telecommunications, information technology, electronic commerce and other related areas.

Australian Journals Online

AJOL is the National Library of Australia's database of Australian electronic journals, newspapers, magazines, webzines, newsletters and e-mail fanzines. The database provides details and links to over 2000 titles that include local and overseas works with Australian content, authorship and/or emphasis as well as entries for sites which advertise or promote Australian journals.

Business Researcher's Interests

a searchable knowledge map of contemporary business, management and information technology issues.

Top of page


Course Resources Online (CROs)


Course Resources Online

This page lists all of the courses with CROs. Click on the relevant course code to see what CROs are available for a particular course.

CROs are extra reading materials (book chapters, journal articles etc.) that your lecturer has asked to be made available online.




Evaluating information


Have you considered the quality of your information?
 

When using information for academic study you need to be more critical of the information you find.

Given the ease with which information can be published on the internet, the task of evaluation is even more important.

Top of page


Referencing and plagiarism

CQU's referencing website

What is plagiarism?

When undertaking academic research, you will draw on the ideas and works of other people.  At CQU you must acknowledge the contributions of those people by referencing the work you have used. 

Failing to acknowledge your sources is plagiarism. 

Top of page

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

Informatics and Communications Librarian