Library Guides

@CQU Library

Jazz and Popular Music

This guide lists different kinds of resources relevant to the study of Jazz and Popular Music, including:

Compass icon This icon is used throughout this guide to indicate additional resources you may like to follow-up.

 

Please note: You may be required to enter in your student number and e.rolment pin to access some of the resources listed in this guide.

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic by locating background information and definitions or explanations of words and concepts.  The following books are held in the Mackay Reference Collection.

Examples of  jazz dictionaries & encyclopedias

Print resources

Jazz Discography

016.78165 1

The New Grove Dictionary of Jazz

781.6503 1/2002

Who's Who's of Jazz - Storyville to Swing

781.650922 1

Encyclopedia of the Blues

781.643 3/1997

Encyclopedia of Jazz in the 60s

781.65 65

Encyclopedia of Jazz in the 70s

781.65 66

Encyclopedia Yearbooks of Jazz

781.6509 6/1993

Online resources

Grove Music Online


 




Books

Books are an important source of information.  Books can provide you with specific information on a particular topic as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to tourism.

Compass icon How do I find books?
These pages will show you how to use the Library Catalogue to search for books held by the Library.

Examples of keywords

jazz history

jazz improvisation

piano voicings

bass lines

aebersold

jazz musicians


 

Examples of keywords

double-bass music (jazz)

improvisation (music)

double-bass music (jazz) -- scores

jazz -- fake books

jazz -- instruction and study

music -- history and criticism



Play-a-long jazz kits

The jazz lecturers recommend these kits as they are an excellent resource for jazz students.  However, they can be difficult to find.  Use the following keywords in the library catalogue to find the play-a-long jazz kits.  If you know the name of the composer, you can use their name as a keyword instead of 'recording'.

Examples of keywords

play-a-long jazz recording

play-a-long jazz davis


Some kits have accompanying parts which are shelved at a different location, for example "piano voicings" and "bass lines".

Examples of play-a-long jazz kits

Bebop & beyond/edited Jamey Aebersold

781.65 50 V36

Blues in all keys/Jamey Aebersold

781.65 50 V42

Thelonious Monk/play-a-long book & stereo cd

781.65 50 V56

Dexter Gordon/play-a-long book & stereo cd

781.65 50 V82


 




Finding scores

You will need to find various scores for your assignments and these scores are accessed through the Library catalogue.  This Guide will show you how to search for a particular score.
 



Journal articles

Journal articles are excellent sources of current information and research. These resources will become increasingly important to you as you progress in your degree.

Compass icon How do I find journal articles?
These pages will show you how to search for articles in journals held by the Library.

Compass icon Databases by Subject: Listings relating to 'Music'
This page provides links to databases containing content relevant to tourism.



Syllabuses

The Australian Music Examination Board provides a complete syllabus and assessment program with a repertoire ranging from classical to contemporary, jazz, rock and pop.

Australian Music Examination Board (AMEB) Online Resource

Manual of Syllabuses (AMEB) S780.76 3 - this is found in the Mackay Reference collection
 




Websites

Internet websites for music

Compass icon Successful web searching
This page contains links to different search tools.

Compass icon Evaluating websites
This page discusses the importance of evaluating a website to determine if it is suitable for inclusion in an academic assignment, and provides links to resources which will show you how to do this.

Compass icon Internet Detective
This is an online tutorial which will help you develop your internet research skills. It was created by the University of Bristol and Manchester Metropolitan University.



Referencing

Referencing is an important part of writing university assignments. It shows the breadth of your research and directs readers to the source of your information.

By using referencing appropriately you will avoid plagiarism.

Like books and journal articles, websites must be referenced in your assignments.  The following pages provide information on referencing websites at Central Queensland University

APA Style Guide for Music

Referencing at CQU
 



 

 

 

 

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

Faculty Liaison Librarian - Music