Library Guides

@CQU Library

Music Theatre

This guide lists different kinds of resources relevant to the study of Music Theatre, including:

Compass icon This icon is used throughout this guide to indicate additional resources you may like to follow-up.

 

Please note: You may be required to enter in your student number and e.rolment pin to access some of the resources listed in this guide.

Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic by locating background information and definitions or explanations of words and concepts.  The following books are held in the Mackay Reference Collection.

Examples of  music theatre dictionaries & encyclopedias

Print resources

Annotated Dictionary of technical, historical, stylistic terms relating to theatre and drama

792.03 11

Cambridge Guide to the Theatre

792.03 6/1995

Concise Oxford Companion to the Theatre

792.03 5/1992

Dictionary of Performing Arts in Australia

790.20994 7

New Grove Dictionary of Opera

782.103 8

Oxford American Musical Theatre

782.1409 1/1992

Blackwell Guide to the Musical Theatre on Record

782.140266 1

Encyclopaedia of the Musical Theatre

782.1403 1/1980

Virgin Encyclopaedia of Stage and Film Musicals

792.603 1

Online resource

 

Grove Music Online

 


 



Books

Books are an important source of information.  Books can provide you with specific information on a particular topic as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to tourism.

Compass icon How do I find books?
These pages will show you how to use the Library Catalogue to search for books held by the Library.

Examples of keywords

  musicals

  voice

  ain't misbehavin'

  production

  health

  composer


 

Examples of keywords

Musicals -- vocal score with piano

Musicals -- history and criticism

Musicals -- production and direction

Voice -- care and hygiene

Motion picture music

Broadway -- (New York, N.Y.)


 



Finding scores

The library has a large collection of musical theatre  scores. Many of these scores have their contents listed on the catalogue record enabling a catalogue search to be made using the title of a particular song.  This Guide will show you how to search for a score.

Wherever possible the library attempts to hold a matching CD and Video or DVD to each musical score. If you are seeking the music and sound to the song "my favourite things" for example your keyword searches would look like this:

Examples of keywords

my favourite       things

musical

vocal score


It is also advisable to try the American  spelling variations where applicable.

my favorite things

  health

  sound recording


 



Journal articles

Journal articles are excellent sources of current information and research. These resources will become increasingly important to you as you progress in your degree.

Compass icon How do I find journal articles?
These pages will show you how to search for articles in journals held by the Library.

Compass icon Databases by Subject: Listings relating to 'Music'
This page provides links to databases containing content relevant to tourism.



Syllabuses

The Australian Music Examination Board provides a complete syllabus and assessment program with a repertoire ranging from classical to contemporary, jazz, rock and pop.

Australian Music Examination Board (AMEB) Online Resource

Manual of Syllabuses (AMEB) S780.76 3 - this is found in the Mackay Reference collection
 



Websites

Internet websites for music

Compass icon Successful web searching
This page contains links to different search tools.

Compass icon Evaluating websites
This page discusses the importance of evaluating a website to determine if it is suitable for inclusion in an academic assignment, and provides links to resources which will show you how to do this.

Compass icon Internet Detective
This is an online tutorial which will help you develop your internet research skills. It was created by the University of Bristol and Manchester Metropolitan University.



Referencing

Referencing is an important part of writing university assignments. It shows the breadth of your research and directs readers to the source of your information.

By using referencing appropriately you will avoid plagiarism.

Like books and journal articles, websites must be referenced in your assignments.  The following pages provide information on referencing websites at Central Queensland University


APA Style Guide for Music

Referencing at CQU


 

 

 


 

 

Top of page icon

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

Faculty Liaison Librarian - Music