Library Guides
@CQU Library
This guide lists different kinds of resources relevant to the study of Jazz and Popular Music, including:
|
|
Please note: You may be required to enter in your student number and e.rolment pin to access some of the resources listed in this guide.
Dictionaries and encyclopedias
Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic by locating background information and definitions or explanations of words and concepts. The following books are held in the Mackay Reference Collection.
|
Examples of performing arts dictionaries & encyclopedias |
|
|
Print resources |
|
|
Annotated Dictionary of technical, historical, stylistic terms relating to theatre and drama |
792.03 11 |
|
New Grove Dictionary of Music and Musicians |
780.3 1/1995 |
|
Dictionary of Performing Arts in Australia |
790.20994 7 |
|
Encyclopaedia of Acting Techniques |
792.028 109 |
|
Encyclopaedia of Popular Music |
781.6403 3/1998 |
|
International Who's Who in Music and Musicians Directory |
780.92 16/2000 |
|
World Music |
781.62 5/2000 |
| Online resource | |
| Grove Music Online | |
Books are an important source of information. Books can provide you with specific information on a particular topic as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to tourism.
How do I find books?
These pages will show you how to use the Library Catalogue to search for books
held by the Library.
|
Examples of keywords |
||
|
dance movement |
commedia dell'arte |
dance styles |
|
stage design |
brecht |
monologues |
|
Singing -- instruction and study |
Playwriting |
|
Improvisation (Acting) |
Theater -- psychological aspects |
|
Drama -- therapeutic use |
Kinesiology |
Finding scores
You will need to find various scores for your assignments and these
scores are accessed through the Library catalogue. This
Guide
will show you how to search for a particular score.
Journal articles are excellent sources of current information and research. These resources will become increasingly important to you as you progress in your degree.
How do I find journal articles?
These pages will show you how to search for articles in journals held by the
Library.
Databases by
Subject: Listings relating to 'Music'
This page provides links to databases containing content relevant to tourism.
|
Stage Whispers |
S792.09945 1 |
|
Dance Forum - print & online |
S792.80994 5 |
|
Perform (1992-2003) |
S790.2099 43 |
|
Encore |
S791.4 10 |
Syllabuses
The Australian Music Examination Board provides a complete syllabus and assessment
program with a repertoire ranging from classical to contemporary, jazz, rock and
pop.
Australian Music Examination Board (AMEB) Online Resource
Manual of Syllabuses (AMEB) S780.76 3 - this is found in the Mackay Reference collection
Successful web searching
This page contains links to different search tools.
Evaluating websites
This page discusses the importance of evaluating a website to determine if it is
suitable for inclusion in an academic assignment, and provides links to
resources which will show you how to do this.
Internet
Detective
This is an online tutorial which will help you develop your internet research
skills. It was created by the University of Bristol and Manchester Metropolitan
University.
Referencing is an important part of writing university assignments. It shows
the breadth of your research and directs readers to the source of your
information.
By using referencing appropriately you will avoid plagiarism.
Like books and journal articles, websites must be referenced in your
assignments. The following pages provide information on referencing
websites at Central Queensland University
APA Style Guide for Music
Communication Learning Centre (CLC) Referencing
CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D
Comments to:
Faculty Liaison Librarian - Music