Library Guides
@CQU Library
This guide will show you how to perform a
basic search in the core psychology databases.
For more advanced features, check out
the "Help" screens in CSA.
1. Go to Library Home
2. Click on 'SearchSMART':

3. Select 'CSA' underneath 'Select specific databases':

4. You may be prompted for your student number and password (e.rolment pin or
Library barcode).
Enter
in these details and click ‘Login’:

5. You will be taken to the CSA interface – tick the boxes beside the databases
you wish to search, and then click 'Continue to Search':

Note: In the above example, all three databases have been selected. You can also opt to search the databases separately.
6. This will take you to the search screen for PsycBOOKS, PsycARTICLES and
PsycINFO.
This is where you can enter in your
keywords (e.g. "drug use" and teenagers) and apply any
limits (.e. date range, 2003-2008):

Note: This search will return all the records held in PsycBOOKS, PsycARTICLES
and PsycINFO which contain the phrase drug use and the word teenagers and
were published between 2003 and 2008.
Note: The keywords you choose will be dependent on your assignment topic. Make
sure you try alternate keywords and combinations of keywords, e.g. drugs AND
teens; "drug use" AND adolescents.
7. Click the 'Search' button.
The results screen will display a list of database records. For more information
about a particular resource, click on 'View Record' beneath the citation.
Note: Sometimes your search may return hundreds - or even thousands - of database records. There are a number of ways you can reduce the number of results in the results list:
8. Only some of the resources will be available in full-text via PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKs,
and PsycINFO.
If the resource is available in full-text, there will be a link to the full-text below the citation:
Example:

If the resource isn't available in full-text via PsycBOOKs, PsycARTICLES or
PsycINFO,
there won't be a full-text link below the citation:
Example:

Click on the ArticleLinker icon to see if the resource is available through
another database or in print.
For more information on Article Linker, check out
Using
ArticleLinker
to locate full text articles.