Library Guides

@CQU Library

PSYC11008 Biological Foundations of Psychology: Course Guide

For Assessment Item 2 (Essay assignment), you are required to write a short essay on the serial position effect.

In addition to the information provided under the resource section of the website for this course, you are required to use at least one additional source, such as a book or journal article.


This guide will show you how to find these additional sources.


Starting your research

Regardless of whether you're searching for resources using the Library catalogue or an online database, you will need to devise a list of keywords you can use in your search.


Note: A 'keyword' might be a two or three word phrase e.g. serial position effect.

There are a number of ways you can devise your list of keywords:

Sometimes it helps to put your concepts and keywords in a table with synonyms and related terms listed underneath:

Example keywords

serial position effect

short term memory

distracter task

primacy effect

serial position effects

memory

distraction

recency effect

serial position

recall

long term memory

 

See also: What is my assignment really about? in Compass: Library Help Online
See also: How do I start searching for information?
in Compass: Library Help Online


Return to top of page


Searching the library catalogue

To find resources on a particular topic,  perform a keyword search in the Library catalogue:

Example 1:
example: keyword search
This search will return all records containing the word memory and the word psychology.
(More information on how to perform a keyword search.)

Example 2:
example: phrase search
This search will return all records containing the phrase short term memory i.e. where the words are together.
(More information on how to perform a phrase search.)


Return to top of page


Searching the psychology databases on the CSA platform

There are three core psychology databases:

All three databases are available via the CSA platform and can be searched together.

How to access the databases

- Go to the Library Home
- Click on ‘SearchSMART’
- Select ‘CSA’ underneath ‘Database Quicklinks’
- If you are accessing this resource from off-campus, you will be prompted for your student number and password (e.rolment pin or Library barcode). Enter in these details and click ‘Login’.
- You will be taken to the CSA interface – this is where you can select the database you’d like to search. Tick the boxes next to ‘PsycARTICLES’, 'PsycBOOKS' and ‘PsycINFO’, then click ‘Continue to Search’.

How to search the databases

Once you've logged in, you'll be taken to the 'Advanced Search' screen where you can enter in a keyword:

Example 1:
example: keyword search
This search will return all records containing the phrase serial position effect.
[There were 1167 results as at 07.02.2008.]

You might like to try combining keywords:

Example 2:
example: combining keywords
This search will return all records containing the phrase serial position and the word memory.
[There were 3604 results as at 07.02.2008.]

To reduce the number of results returned, you might also like to limit your search to a particular field in the record and/or limit by date:

Example 3:
example: limits
This search will return all the records held in PsycARTICLES, PsycBOOKS and PsycINFO which contain the phrase serial position in the 'Abstract' field, AND contain the word memory in the 'Abstract' field, AND were published between 2003 and 2008. [There were 89 results as at 07.02.08.]

Note: Once you have a list of results, you have the option of re-sorting your results by 'relevance rank'. You may also like to click on one of the tabs at the top of the screen to look at a particular kind of resource e.g. peer-reviewed journals.

How to locate the full-text item

Only some of the citations in your search results will have a link to the full-text item.

If the item is available in full-text in the database, a link will appear below the citation e.g.  ‘Full-Text HTML’ or ‘Full-Text PDF’.

If the article isn't available in full-text, click on the ArticleLinker icon to see if it is available through another database or in print at CQU Library.

 

See also: Psychology Journal Tutorial
See also: How do I find journal articles? in Compass: Library Help Online


Return to top of page

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library