Library Guides

@CQU Library

Social Work and Human Services - Library Resource Guide

This guide lists different kinds of resources relevant to the study of social work, including:

Compass icon This icon is used throughout this guide to indicate additional resources you may like to follow-up.


Please note:
You may be required to enter in your student number and e.rolment pin to access some of the resources listed in this guide.



Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic by locating background information and definitions or explanations of words and concepts.

Social work dictionaries
The above link performs a "canned search" of the Library catalogue for dictionaries relevant to the social work discipline.

Social work encyclopedias
The above link performs a "canned search" of the Library catalogue for encyclopedias relevant to the social work discipline.


Compass icon
Dictionary of the social sciences (2002)
This dictionary is available online via the Oxford Reference Online database.



Books

Books are an important source of information.  Books can provide you with specific information on a particular topic as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to social work.

Compass icon How do I find books?
These pages will show you how to use the Library Catalogue to search for books held by the Library.

Compass icon SocINDEX with Full-Text
SocINDEX with Full-Text provides full-text access to over 720 books online. To limit your search to books and book chapters, select 'Books' underneath 'Publication Type' on the search screen.

Compass icon
SocINDEX with Full-Text: Search Guide
A brief guide to accessing and searching SocINDEX with Full-Text.

Compass icon St Luke's Innovative Resources
"St Luke's Innovative Resources publishes and sells seriously optimistic card packs, books, stickers, posters and other resources that can change people's lives."
The Library has purchased a number of resources from this publisher over the last couple of years, including flashcards which may be useful when working with individuals and groups.



Journal articles

Journal articles are excellent sources of current information and research. These resources will become increasingly important to you as you progress in your degree.

Compass icon How do I find journal articles?
These pages will show you how to search for articles in journals held by the Library.

Compass icon Databases by Subject: Listings related to 'Social Work'
SocINDEX with Full-Text is the core database for social work. This page provides links to this database as well as other databases which contain social work-related content.

Compass icon
SocINDEX with Full-Text: Search Guide
A brief guide to accessing and searching SocINDEX with Full-Text.



Websites

Some useful websites

Australian Association of Social Workers (AASW)

The AASW is the professional representative body of social workers in Australia.

Australian Institute of Criminology

The AIC is a Commonwealth statutory authority and Australia's pre-eminent national crime and criminal justice research agency.

Australian Institute of Family Studies (AIFS)

The AIFS is an Australian government statutory authority which was established  to promote the identification and understanding of factors affecting marital and family stability in Australia.

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)

The AIHW is Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information.

Australian Institute of Welfare and Community Workers (AIWCW)

The AIWCW is the recognised professional body for welfare and community workers in Australia.

Information for Practice

The aim of this site is to help social service professionals throughout the world conveniently maintain an awareness of news regarding the profession and emerging scholarship.

Overcoming Indigenous Disadvantage

In April 2002, the Council of Australian Governments commissioned the Steering Committee to produce a regular report against key indicators of Indigenous disadvantage. This report has an important long-term objective. It is to inform Australian governments about whether policy programs and interventions are achieving positive outcomes for Indigenous people. This will help guide where further work is needed.

Department of Communities

The Department of Communities is a Queensland Government agency committed to promoting and supporting excellence in the delivery of human services to Queenslanders.

Toolkit to end violence against women

This tool kit was developed by the National Advisory Council on Violence Against Women to provide concrete guidance to communities, policy leaders, and individuals engaged in activities to end violence against women.


Compass icon
Successful web searching
This page contains links to different search tools.

Compass icon Evaluating websites
This page discusses the importance of evaluating a website to determine if it is suitable for inclusion in an academic assignment, and provides links to resources which will show you how to do this.

Compass icon Internet Detective
This is an online tutorial which will help you develop your internet research skills. It was created by the University of Bristol and Manchester Metropolitan University.



Course Resources Online (CROs)

CROs are documents (book chapters, journal articles etc.) that a course co-ordinator for a particular course has asked be made available online.

Compass icon Course Resources Online
This page lists all of the courses with CROs. Click on the relevant course code to see what CROs are available for a particular course.

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library