Library Guides

@CQU Library

SocINDEX with Full Text: Search Guide

This guide will show you how to perform a basic search in SocINDEX with Full Text.

For more advanced features, check out the "Help" screens in the database itself.



1. Go to Library Home



2. Click on 'SearchSMART':

SearchSMART



3. Select 'Ebscohost' underneath 'Select specific databases':

Database Quicklinks



4. You may be prompted for your student number and password (e.rolment pin or Library barcode).

Enter in these details and click ‘Login’:

login screen



5. You will be taken to the EBSCO interface – click on ‘EBSCOhost Web’:

ebscohost



6. Tick the box next to 'SocINDEX with Full Text', and then click the 'Continue' button:

database selection screen

Note: Make sure none of the boxes beside the other EBSCOhost databases are ticked.



6. This will take you to the search screen for SocINDEX with Full Text.

This is where you can enter in your keywords (e.g. "drug use" and teenagers) and apply any limits (.e. date range, 2003-2008):

search screen

Note: This search will return all the records held in SocINDEX with Full Text which contain the phrase drug use and the word teenagers and were published between 2003 and 2008.

Note: The keywords you choose will be dependent on your assignment topic. Make sure you try alternate keywords and combinations of keywords, e.g. drugs AND teens; "drug use" AND adolescents.



7. Click the 'Search' button.

The results screen will display a list of database records. For more information about a particular resource, click on the resource's title.

Note: Sometimes your search may return hundreds - or even thousands - of database records. There are a number of ways you can reduce the number of results in the results list:



8.  Only some of the resources will be available in full text via SocINDEX with Full Text.

If the resource is available in full text, there will be a link to the full text below the citation:

Example:
example

If the resource isn't available in full text via SocINDEX with Full-Text, there won't be a full text link below the citation:

Example:
example

Click on the Article Linker icon to see if the resource is available through another database or in print.

For more information on Article Linker, check out Using ArticleLinker to locate full text articles.

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library