Library Guides

@CQU Library

Sociology - Library Resource Guide

This guide lists different kinds of resources relevant to the study of sociology, including:

Compass icon This icon is used throughout this guide to indicate additional resources you may like to follow-up.


Please note:
You may be required to enter in your student number and e.rolment pin to access some of the resources listed in this guide.



Dictionaries and encyclopedias

Dictionaries and encyclopedias can help you gain an understanding of a topic by locating background information and definitions or explanations of words and concepts.

Sociology dictionaries
The above link performs a "canned search" of the Library catalogue for dictionaries relevant to the sociologychology discipline.

Sociology encyclopedias
The above link performs a "canned search" of the Library catalogue for encyclopedias relevant to the sociology discipline.


Compass icon
A Dictionary of sociology, 3rd edn (2005)
Dictionary of the social sciences (2002)
These dictionaries are available online via the Oxford Reference Online database.

Compass iconThe Red Feather Dictionary of Critical Social Science
Free online dictionary hosted on the University of Wyoming's website.

Compass icon The 'Sociology' entry in Wikipedia



Books

Books are an important source of information.  Books can provide you with specific information on a particular topic as well as detailing theories and concepts fundamental to sociology.

Compass icon How do I find books?
These pages will show you how to use the Library Catalogue to search for books held by the Library.

Compass icon SocINDEX with Full-Text
SocINDEX with Full-Text provides full-text access to over 720 books online. To limit your search to books and book chapters, select 'Books' underneath 'Publication Type' on the search screen.

Compass icon
SocINDEX with Full-Text: Search Guide
A brief guide to accessing and searching SocINDEX with Full-Text.



Journal articles

Journal articles are excellent sources of current information and research. These resources will become increasingly important to you as you progress in your degree.

Compass icon How do I find journal articles?
These pages will show you how to search for articles in journals held by the Library.

Compass icon Databases by Subject: Listings related to 'Sociology'
SocINDEX with Full-Text is the core database for sociology. This page provides links to this database as well as other databases which contain sociology-related content.

Compass icon
SocINDEX with Full-Text: Search Guide
A brief guide to accessing and searching SocINDEX with Full-Text.



Websites

Some useful websites

Alternative News Network
 

An Australian based news network.
 

Australian Institute of Criminology

Australia's national crime and criminal justice research agency

Australian Institute of Family Studies (AIFS)

The AIFS is an Australian government statutory authority which was established to promote the identification and understanding of factors affecting marital and family stability in Australia.

Australian Institute of Health and Welfare (AIHW)

The AIHW is Australia's national agency for health and welfare statistics and information.

The Australian Sociological Association (TASA)

TASA is the peak organisation of sociologists throughout Australia.

Insight
 

INSIGHT is a unique Australian television program – a discussion forum focussing on a single issue with the participation of a studio audience.

Intute: Social Sciences: Sociology

Intute: Sociology provides free access to high quality resources on the Internet.

Media Watch
 

Media Watch is Australia's leading forum for media analysis and comment.

Radio National
 

Radio National is the Australian Broadcasting Corporation's radio station.

A sociological tour through cyberspace

Page maintained by Professor Michael C. Kearl from the Department of Sociology & Anthropology at Trinity University.

Sociology ethics

Adaptation of web pages created for the Office of the Vice Chancellor for Research at the University of Illinois.

The SocioWeb

"Your Independent Guide to Sociological Resources on the Internet."

The WWW Virtual Library: International Affairs Resources

An internet directory of over 2600 annotated links to high-quality sources of information and analysis in a wide range of international affairs, international studies, and international relations topics.


Compass icon
Successful web searching
This page contains links to different search tools.

Compass icon Evaluating websites
This page discusses the importance of evaluating a website to determine if it is suitable for inclusion in an academic assignment, and provides links to resources which will show you how to do this.

Compass icon Internet Detective
This is an online tutorial which will help you develop your internet research skills. It was created by the University of Bristol and Manchester Metropolitan University.



Course Resources Online (CROs)

CROs are documents (book chapters, journal articles etc.) that a course co-ordinator for a particular course has asked be made available online.

Compass icon Course Resources Online
This page lists all of the courses with CROs. Click on the relevant course code to see what CROs are available for a particular course.

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library