Library Guides

@CQU Library

SOCL11055 Introduction to Sociology

This guide will show you how to conduct a search for resources you can use for your Portfolio assessment.

It is divided into the following topics:

The following topic is used as an example throughout this guide:

Describe some of the different formations of the family and discuss how the family operates as a socialising institution


Planning your search

Before you begin searching for resources, you need to to spend some time thinking about the topic.

Firstly, try brainstorming what you already know about the topic.

The brainstorming process should make it easier to select keywords you can use in your search.

You might like to use concept maps, flow charts, lists or tables to organise your information.

The brainstorming process should make it easier to select keywords you can use in your search.

Your list of keywords should include:

Remember to also include spelling variations (e.g. socialisation/socialization), plurals (e.g. family/families) and word variants (e.g. socialising/socialisation)
 

Note:  If you’re having trouble thinking of keywords, you may like to try your textbook, or a dictionary, thesaurus or encyclopaedia.

A Dictionary of sociology (2005)
Dictionary of the social sciences (2002)
These dictionaries are available online via Oxford Reference Online.

Note:  Add to your list of keywords throughout your search - you are likely to come across terms that you had not thought of.


Searching the library catalogue

To find resources on a particular topic,  perform a keyword search in the Library catalogue:

Example 1:
example: keyword search
This search will return all records containing the word family, the word socialization.
(More information on how to perform a
keyword search.)

Example 2:
example: phrase search
This search will return all records containing the phrase nuclear family i.e. where the words are together.
(More information on how to perform a
phrase search.)
 

Note:  Check out the How do I find books? section in 'Compass: Library Help Online'.

Note: 
Selecting a subject heading will link you to other items in the collection with the same subject heading. Each item in the CQU Library catalogue has been allocated at least one subject heading. Once you have found a suitable book, make sure you have a look at the subject headings in the Complete Record.
 

Searching SocINDEX with Full-Text

SocINDEX with Full-Text is the core database for sociology. SocINDEX contains records for journal articles, as well as books and other kinds of publications.

Some of the records in SocINDEX will contain a link to the full-text resource.

If the resource you want is unavailable in full-text via SocINDEX, you can use ArticleLinker to see if it is available in another database or in hard copy on the Library's shelves.

The SocINDEX with Full-Text: Search Guide will show you how to perform a search in SocINDEX.

Note:  Check out the How do I find journal articles? section in 'Compass: Library Help Online'.

Note: 
There are different types of journals - make sure that the articles you choose come from academic or scholarly journals.
 

Searching the Informit databases

Informit provides access to numerous databases containing Australian content.

Here are some directions for how to access and search the Informit databases:

Example:
example: search screen
This search will return all records containing the word family and the phrase socialisation which were published between 2003 and 2008.   

Example:
example: record

If the resource you want is unavailable in full-text via the Informit databases you are searching, you can use ArticleLinker to see if it is available in another database or in hard copy on the Library's shelves.


Searching Newsbank

NewsBank provides full-text access to major Australian newspapers, as well as a selection of international newspapers.

All of the records in NewsBank will contain a link to the full-text resource.

Here are some directions for how to access and search NewsBank:

Example:
example: search screen
This search will return all records containing the phrase blended families which were published in the past year.

Example:
example: record

Note:  Check out Finding newspaper articles for more information.

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library