Library Guides

@CQU Library

SOCL19071 State, Ethnicity and Gender

This guide is designed to help you find resources which will be useful for Assessment Item 1 (critical review of literature) and Assessment Item 2 (policy analysis).

For the first assessment, you are required to choose an issue and carry out a critical review of the literature related to policy issues in that area.

There are five issues to choose from; domestic violence, industrial relations legislation, youth suicide/depression, drug use, and border protection/refugees.

This guide is structured according to the different kinds of publications you must find for your review:


How to find government publications

To find out which government publications (e.g.) reports, policy documents) are held at CQU Library, perform a keyword search in the library catalogue.

To help limit your search to government publications, include the words department and government as keywords.

Example:
example: keyword search
This search will return all records containing the word department or the word government, as well as the phrase domestic violence.
(More information on how to perform a keyword search and phrase search.)

Some government publications will be freely available online.

There are a couple of ways to locate these publications:

1) You can go directly to a specific government department's website and browse to find a relevant publication. Check out Gov.au if you're not sure of the web address.

2) You can use a search engine, e.g. Google, and limit your search to government websites.

Example:
example: Google search
This search will limit your results to Australian government websites, i.e. all sites ending with gov.au.


How to find political party publications

Generally, these kind of publications will not be held at CQU Library.

Political parties tend to have offices in most towns and cities - you could pick up a publication from your local office.

Alternatively, you could see if there is a suitable publication on the party website:


How to find journal articles

The core database for sociology is SocINDEX with Full-Text.

SocINDEX contains records for thousands resources, many of them journal articles. Some of these articles will be available in full-text via SocINDEX; some will be available through other databases or in hard copy on the Library's shelves.

The SocINDEX with Full-Text: Search Guide will show you how to perform a search in SocINDEX.

The Australian Public Affairs Information Service (APAIS) is another database which you may find useful for this course.

APAIS is a citation-only database. When you find an article you're interested in, you will need to click on the "ArticleLinker" icon beside the citation to see if the full-text is available through another database or in hard copy on the Library's shelves. (See Using ArticleLinker to locate full text articles.)


How to find book chapters

You can use the Book Search in the Library catalogue to find books on your topic.

Example:
example: book search

This search will return all records containing the phrase domestic violence, the word policy, and the word australia.

You may also like to try searching SocINDEX with Full-Text for relevant book chapters. SocINDEX provides full-text access to over 720 books online.

The SocINDEX with Full-Text: Search Guide will show you how to perform a search in SocINDEX.

To limit your search to books available in full-text via SocINDEX, tick the box beside "Full Text" and select "Books" underneath "Publication Type" on the initial search screen.

Example:
example: limit results to full text

example: limit results to books


How to find newspaper articles or current affairs items

NewsBank provides full-text access to major Australian newspapers, as well as a selection of international newspapers.

All of the records in NewsBank will contain a link to the full-text resource.

Here are some directions for how to access and search NewsBank:

Example:
example: newsbank
This search will return all records containing the phrase domestic violence and the word policy which were published in the past 3 months.

Example:
example: record

CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library