Article Linker

@CQU Library

Article Linker - Guide

Overview

Basically the library has access to journal articles in 3 ways

1. in print, sitting on library shelves in campus libraries

2. through electronic subscriptions via the publisher of the journal e.g. Kluwer, Wiley, Springer and Elsevier (ScienceDirect). You can access these directly through Databases in SearchSMART

3. via the multitude of journal databases we subscribe to e.g. Proquest, EiCompendex, ERIC, etc. where some articles are available full text but not all.

To make everyone's life a little easier the Library has purchased an 'openURL linking' program entitled Article Linker, which enables cross-database searching for


 Locating full-text articles

An 'Article Linker" icon , or something similar dependent on the database, can appear after the results of your search, if the article is not available full text when searching within an 'OpenURL / Article Linker' enabled database.

Click on this icon and you will be shown a screen with information on whether CQU can provide full text access to the article or not, from other sources

If the article is available through another database the following screen will appear

Clicking on the word "Article" will take you to the text of that article.

If we don't have a direct link to the article then click on "Journal" as we have access to the journal, but you will need to check the contents pages for that article yourself. Either way you will get to the full text.

If we don't have access to this article/journal electronically you will get the following screen.

Article Linker Sorry, no electronic holdings were found for this journal

We recommend you then try and locate the article through the Library catalogue. Perhaps we have it in hard copy?

Article Linker Step 2 - Search the Library catalogue

If you are unsuccessful here as well, and you still require the article then you are welcome to Ask a Librarian or check if you are eligible for our Document Delivery service via the following options

Article Linker Step 3 - Can't find it in the catalogue


Known Citation searching

The Article Linker software also allows you to search for your known references and citations across all our e-journal and newspaper holdings.

To do this you will need to go to the Library's e-Journals and Newspapers web site located at http://vs7pm8vz2k.search.serialssolutions.com/

From here you can enter the journal title of your reference or citation using the Find or Browse options.

e-journal find or browse option screen shot

There are a number of other journal title search options available from the drop down box.

e-journals find title options screen shot

If we have access to the journal electronically through any of our databases then you will get the following result

e-journals successful search screen shot

Click on the Search for article icon link and enter the details of your reference or citation in the fields provided and click on Search.

Refine or alter criteria screen shot

This will then give you a results screen the same as locating full-text articles above, from which you can then make your selection.



If you need further assistance contact your Faculty Liaison Librarian or phone the Enquiry Centre on 1300 369 038.


CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D



Comments to:

CQU Library