Databases
@CQU Library
|
Question |
Solution |
|
Can pop-up windows be viewed on your computer? |
Some anti-virus software and/or toolbars block pop-up windows from appearing. The following page provides instructions on how to disable pop-up blockers:
https://host.softworks.ca/Agate3/ |
|
Are
you using the current versions of Internet Explorer / Netscape and Adobe
Acrobat Reader?
|
It is
advisable to have the latest web browser version and Adobe Acrobat reader
program to use Library databases. Current versions |
|
What are your security settings in your web browser on your home personal computer? |
Some of
our databases require medium to low levels of security, and low levels of
privacy. Note: You will need to ensure that you
have a current virus scanning program loaded on your computer. |
|
Do you have cookies enabled in your web browser [Netscape or Internet Explorer] enabled? |
Cookies
must be enabled to use the Library web site.
|
|
Do you regularly clear your web browser [Netscape or Internet Explorer] cache? |
You need to regularly clear your cache because some databases are updated regularly, to ensure you are logging into the current database, not an old version.
|
|
What are your security settings in your web browser on your computer at work? |
Some
organisations have strict network security settings which cannot be
modified. |
|
Do you have RealDownload installed on your computer? |
If you
are having difficulty downloading PDF articles a possible cause is the
installation of RealDownload on your computer. Disable RealDownload and
try again.
|
|
Why am I prompted for a password when logging into a database from SearchSMART, when I haven't in the past? |
The
database vendor may have changed the URL of their service without
contacting the library. Please contact your Faculty Liaison Librarian. |
|
Have you closed your web browser and re-loaded? i.e. close your Internet Explorer program and load it again. |
Sometimes, there are problems at the database provider end. If it is
taking a while to log-in, close your browser, then try again. You may need
to log-off and try again in 5 minutes. |
CQU CRICOS Provider Codes: QLD - 00219C; NSW - 01315F; VIC - 01624D
Comments to:
Electronic Services Librarian